Travel Theme: Leading lines

9 Aug

I recently started following a blog called “Where’s my Backpack” where there is a weekly travel theme.  I’ve seen several of them now, but the challenge for this week made me think long enough that I decided to participate for the first time.  It is on leading lines and how in photos we often have something that draws the eye.  For example – on an open road, the line in the middle carries us forward or when you are looking at a rock formation the different layers of rock contribute to a different perspective.

I was going through a few photos and thought about the contrast between natural leading lines and man-made leading lines and then chose these two photos to illustrate that.

The photos were taken last fall when I went to explore Longhua Temple towards the west side of Shanghai.  The first is a shot of the elevated subway – so many lines, all connected and integral for the running of a modern machine.  The second is the leading lines that have been created by the careful cultivation of a grove of bamboo.  I may not be following the challenge directly as it is in the city where I live, but Shanghai is so big that it needs some exploring!

I also have another photo that I took when traveling in northern Michigan earlier this year.  The moon path – the ultimate leading line, leading to hopes and dreams and starry nights.  It’s a sight I don’t see often enough.

If you’d like to see other people’s ideas of what leading lines could be, please go to the Where’s my Backpack link above.

Where do leading lines lead you?

14 Responses to “Travel Theme: Leading lines”

  1. Imelda August 9, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    these are all lovely photos.

    • gkm2011 August 9, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      Thank you! This theme seemed to get inside my head in a way. I’m glad the photos can communicate my concept.

  2. Jo Bryant August 9, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    great images…really like the train lines

    • gkm2011 August 9, 2012 at 11:41 am #

      Thanks – I don’t typically take photos of that type of shot, so I’m glad I remember this one.

  3. thirdeyemom August 9, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    These are wonderful but my heart goes to the third one in Michigan! Wow, that is one awesome picture! I love doing this weekly challenge as well as the WordPress Photo Challenge and Jakesprinter’s Sunday post. I’ve met a whole new group of bloggers I follow and vice versa and it always makes me think out of the box about posting which is wonderful! Great entry and welcome aboard!

    • gkm2011 August 9, 2012 at 11:43 am #

      Thanks – I think I found “Where’s my Backpack” through you, so indirectly this post is connected then. I had the post ready to go actually without the Michigan photo and was looking for something else and found it. Serendipity maybe? I’m looking forward to taking on more challenges.

  4. valerie August 9, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Great pic from Michigan!

    • gkm2011 August 9, 2012 at 11:43 am #

      Thanks Val – I’ll get you there one of these days when we’re both in the same country!

  5. ailsapm August 11, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    Fabulous series of photos, gkm2011, the moon on the lake in Michigan is breathtaking and the bamboo grove is stunning. I love the subway tracks too, but my heart belongs to that natural lines. xxx Ailsa

    • gkm2011 August 11, 2012 at 8:08 am #

      Thank you for stopping by – given that it was your topic that inspired me, I’m happy to participate.

  6. Naomi Baltuck August 25, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    A very nice post–I love the variety of material that all still fits into the theme.

    • gkm2011 August 26, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      Thank you Naomi – I almost published this one without the moon photo, but then thought of it at the last minute and included it as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel theme: Signs « 中国 Jumble - August 16, 2012

    […] week my post on leading lines got lots of comments and when I saw this week’s theme at Where’s my Backpack? I knew […]

  2. The fifth quarter update « 中国 Jumble - October 16, 2012

    […] Travel Theme – Leading Lines was the first time I participated and the photo of the moon over Lake Huron remains one of my favorite shots of all time. Moon over Lake Huron […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

