Inspiring Blog Award

12 Aug

It seems appropriate that with the Olympics running down I have been recognized for an award from a fellow blogger who has really inspired me over the last several months.  More appropriate in this instance than a gold medal, the award is the “Inspiring Blog Award” and I was nominated by Nicole at the blog “Third Eye Mom.”  It was a nice gift that coincided with the one year anniversary of my blog and was also a validation for me that there are a few folks out there reading my jumbled up tales.

The purpose of this award is to share some additional information about myself as well as share other blogs that inspire me.  I already shared some random information about myself when I was nominated for two other blog awards earlier this year, so I thought that I would write a little about what inspires me and then share a couple of blogs that I follow as well.

A group of ND alumni and students – committed to my great university

I am inspired by people who work hard and commit to a goal that is greater than themselves.

The Family Group by Charles Umlauf taken in Austin, Texas

I am inspired by children and those who keep a child-like view of curiosity towards the world.

and

The first poppy of the season in northern Michigan’s late spring

I am inspired by blue skies, uplifting music, beautiful flowers and cooking a meal with family and friends.

The following blogs inspire me.  I hope they inspire you as well.

Expatially Mexico – is a delightful blog focusing on being an expat much closer to my home than I am, but still feels very familiar

Stupid Ugly Foreigner – writes on teaching English in Korea and how life can have many different meanings

Fiona Grows Food – follows the life of a garden in the UK

Kelly at Tales from Hebei – has tales of a foreigner in a similar situation as me, but in northern China

What inspires you?  Do you find my blog inspiring – if so, why?

9 Responses to “Inspiring Blog Award”

  1. Kristin August 12, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    First of all, congratulations!!! And thanks for this inspirational post.
    Also, thank you so much for nominating me, I am honoured! It always feels good to be appreciated by fellow-bloggers. I will share what inspires me soon, but your blog surely does!

    • gkm2011 August 12, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      Thanks – it’s been a pleasure to follow you.

  2. jotsfromasmallapt August 12, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    Your posts are, indeed, inspiring.
    Congratulations!!

    • gkm2011 August 13, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Thanks Jots! Glad that you’re still following.

  3. Madhu August 14, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    Congratulations on your award!

    • gkm2011 August 14, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      Thanks Madhu. Appreciate it.

  4. eof737 August 14, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Congratulations to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

