Typhoon Haikui – the second time got me

19 Aug

I wrote a couple of weeks ago about my near-miss of Typhoon Vicente during my business trip to Shenzhen.  Unfortunately though, it seems that this year typhoon season was determined to make a direct impact on my life here in Shanghai and last week we had typhoon Haikui come through town.  It hit category 11 out of 12 on the scale used here in China with a red alert that took place around mid-day.

The day prior the sky looked funny, but I still went to a vendor event and walked home from work just as normal, but I kept getting notices that things were closed – the American Consulate, my yoga studio, and then finally – our office.  The next morning when I woke up, it was raining hard but not too bad, but then around lunchtime the rain started coming down sideways, with hail.  The wind pushed the trees and tossed branches and I stayed home, working on different projects and taking conference calls.

I have never seen rain quite like this.  I understand that the eye of the storm directly hit the city of Ningbo to the south, but I was close enough to feel the power of nature.  There are some things that we cannot control.

That day, I took some photos to remind me of that.

View of the hospital outside the window

The rain blurring all sharp edges

Contemplating the storm

The power of rain (it also slightly flooded my balcony)

Summer storms happen everywhere, but this one I will remember for a long time.  Do you have any memorable ones?

Keep dry and safe!

3 Responses to “Typhoon Haikui – the second time got me”

  1. eof737 August 22, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    Yes, I’ve seen a few rainstorms and remembered a particularly bad one where there was hail and that sideways downpour… so, so strange. 😦

    • gkm2011 August 22, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

      It just reminds us that Mother Nature may always have other plans. Our control of the weather is only an illusion.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A typhoon? You have got to be kidding! | 中国 Jumble - July 16, 2013

    […] a child of the Midwest, typhoons don’t even make my radar.  Despite living through a typhoon in Shanghai last year, I have never really considered their impact – nor have expected them to […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

