A tale of two mobile phones

2 Sep

When I first came to China, nearly five years ago, one of the first things I did was buy a cell phone.  Together with my former boss who became a good friend (now in Indonesia) I bought a Nokia with a color display and convenient size, easily fitting into my pocket.  This was before the iPhone or any of the touch-screen phones was popular and I remember the first year or two now many people commented on my phone – how handy, how dependable.

My original phone – compact and very cute

Until last week I was using that same phone from five years ago.  I no longer received positive comments from others – more like hoots of laughter asking why I hadn’t upgraded.  I couldn’t surf the web – I could take photos but couldn’t send them anywhere.  My phone did prove dependable though – it still works, though I’ve gone through three different phone chargers and lately it was freezing a bit more than was healthy.

As a combination early birthday present (my birthday is in September) and Chinese Valentine’s Day present (August 23rd), Li gave me a gift – a brand new Huawei P1 smart phone.  I also have a nifty case that reflects the east meets west mixture that is Shanghai.  When I showed it to my colleagues they all laughed – the majority of them have iPhones which is a US brand (though made in China), while I, the foreigner, have a Chinese branded Huawei phone.  It is pretty ironic.

My new phone – big screen, bright display and the weather report!

I am still learning how to use my new phone.  This is made harder in that I decided to keep all of the menus and commands in Mandarin to help with my character learning and knowledge.  Li did give me the user guide in English and sometimes I cross reference, but I think that it’s a good way to reemphasize certain learnings and five years in I should be able to handle it.  The phone may also give me a way to have some more streetscape photos, from what I can tell the camera is pretty cool, so it may influence my blog posting as well.  More to come.

Li gave me two cases – a yellow one and this lovely Shanghai lady. I chose her!

I am not a techie – but I am enjoying my new toy.  What’s the last IT/tech purchase you have made that has created new memories and stretched your brain as you figure out how it works?
Thanks to all of you who visited Zhongguo Jumble in August.  I had a great month with my highest views to date (nearly 1500).  With the apartment search and a couple of other things going on having your positive feedback has really made a difference.

18 Responses to “A tale of two mobile phones”

  1. roomaomao September 2, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    I’m still using my 200rmb LG phone that I first picked up in Tianjin when I arrived in China 3 years ago. It doesn’t even have a camera! I’ll wait until it dies then switch over to another phone.

    • gkm2011 September 2, 2012 at 9:33 am #

      I held on to mine for almost five years – so I understand. Li giving it to me as a gift is what pushed me over the edge, but the real issue was that it was freezing with more and more regularity. Given how key my cell phone is for reaching friends and colleagues, that wasn’t acceptable anymore. I hope this one has another 4-5 years in it!

      • roomaomao September 2, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

        Mine is starting to get worse and worse lately. Hopefully it has a few more years left in it. I keep seeing everybody , their mothers , and country bumpkins with I-phones. Haha it makes me jealous but I can’t afford it , HuaWei for me too maybe.

      • gkm2011 September 3, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

        Well, I’ve been satisfied so far. 🙂

      • roomaomao September 4, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

        Oooh Fancy Technology! Haha

  2. roomaomao September 2, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    I love that Shanghai lady phone cover!

    • gkm2011 September 2, 2012 at 9:32 am #

      Thanks – I do too, have already gotten some great comments on it. Definitely a good present!

  3. abc in shanghai September 2, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    1500 visitors? Nice! I don’t advertise or promote mine … what do you do here?

    • gkm2011 September 2, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      August was a major increase (nearly double) of my previous high month. I don’t advertise either, so I’m not sure why the numbers have gone up – I have started participating in the Travel Themes from Where’s my Backpack, so I think some traffic results from there. Thanks for continuing to follow and comment!

  4. thirdeyemom September 2, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    I must say you have a great boyfriend with food taste! I love the red phone cover!!! I finally got an iPhone last year and I thought I would never need one but I must say it has changed my life. I use it for everything from shopping lists to blogging to twitter to reading and replying to posts. It is awesome and I bet your Chinese brand will be unbelievable. 🙂

    • gkm2011 September 2, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      Thanks – I agree! Thus far the phone has been a lot of fun – I’ll slowly get its functions down and hopefully improve my mandarin a bit in the process.

  5. expatlingo September 2, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    I’m still hanging onto my 5 year old Sony Ericsson… Maybe if I wait long enough it will acquire a “retro-cool” cache? Yeah, probably not. Truthfully I’ll probably take my husband’s hand me down iPhone soon… though some of the Samsung’s I’ve seen on the MTR look pretty cool.

    • gkm2011 September 2, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      I know – if my phone hadn’t been freezing I don’t know that I would have accepted the gift, but now that I have it I am certainly enjoying it!

  6. valerie September 4, 2012 at 5:33 am #

    That is hilarious – Pat and I just upgraded our clunky phones a few weeks ago (although not as old as yours). We got the Samsung Galaxy and the thing is way to smart of a smart phone for us. We can take photos, but I think it can do much much more that we still haven’t figured out. More to come on that one day – hopefully we’ll get up to speed with the technology. Enjoy the new phone!

    • gkm2011 September 4, 2012 at 8:19 am #

      Thanks – that is ironic that we upgraded just about the same time! I’ve seen the Samsung ones – they are pretty powerful. My latest discovery was how to connect the phone to my email. That has been interesting too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Urban Shanghai « 中国 Jumble - September 4, 2012

    […] I have been getting used to my brand new phone, I have been taking pictures at random intervals, including a few that I snapped last weekend on […]

  2. Chinese voicemail – Weixin (微信) « 中国 Jumble - February 3, 2013

    […] though I got my smart phone back in August, I am still told by my colleagues and friends that I am behind the times on a daily […]

  3. My neighborhood via phone | 中国 Jumble - March 12, 2013

    […] with a focus of neighborhood.  They also challenged me to use only my phone for the photos.  My phone (which was a present last August) has been a constant source of new photos and inspiration for me is […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

