Travel theme – curves

6 Sep

This week’s theme at Where’s My Backpack is curves.

Bridge in water town outside of Shanghai, China around new year’s 2009

As I looked through my photos I started looking at bridges and doors.  In China classic bridges tend to have a high arch in case of potential flooding and in traditional gardens, there are lots of curved and round doors that can be used to frame a subject.  They are man-made curves with a focus on proportion and line.

Doing a curvy yoga pose, in front of an arched door in Wuxi, China, summer of 2010

Then I started thinking about more natural curves and remembering the trip I took with my good friend Valerie in the spring of 2010. We went to Guilin and Yangshuo in the south of China to see the rolling hills. From that trip I captured curves that predate humans and remind us that they will continue while we are gone.

A natural half moon arch in the foothills of Yangshuo, China

Lovely curves as we bicycled through the hills of Yangshuo in May of 2010

Finally when looking through photos from my family’s trip to China in 2008 I found this photo from the Chongqing zoo. We had gone to see the pandas (and did see many of them), but this elephant’s trunk seems to be the perfect curve to end the post.

A final natural curve, photo taken in the Chongqing zoo in June of 2008

Which curve is your favorite and where do you see your favorite curves?

If you would like to see other people’s photos defining curves, please go to the link above.

15 Responses to “Travel theme – curves”

  1. thirdeyemom September 6, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Great post! I would love to go to Guilin someday! It looks so beautiful! I also like that you are showing more pictures of yourself on the blog! It is so nice to put a face with a writer! 🙂

    • gkm2011 September 7, 2012 at 8:38 am #

      Thanks Nicole – it’s a balance between people and things. I’ll see what I can do in the future.

  2. jotsfromasmallapt September 6, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    I, too, love the fact you are putting yourself into your posts. Your voice is sooooo far away from us….yourself just brings you a wee bit closer. Thanks for your wonderful view of life in China.

    • gkm2011 September 7, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      Thanks Jots! I feel like I’ve always put my point of view in, just now a few more photos. Good to see your comment.

  3. roomaomao September 6, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    My favorite curves are the ones from Guilin. I need to get some stunning nature in my life! You are totally right about ancient China being loaded with curves . So many graceful bridges, and awesome little portals tucked away in the classical gardens.

    • gkm2011 September 7, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      Thanks – that trip to Guilin (and Yangshuo) was a special one. That part of the country is how I imagine ancient China would have been.

      • roomaomao September 7, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

        I haven’t made it there (yet) but Yunnan province gave me that kind of feeling. Try to make it out there if you haven’t!

      • gkm2011 September 7, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

        I’ve been to Kunming, Tengchong and Dali in Yunnan. I should go back and look for more curves in those photos!

      • roomaomao September 7, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

        Go back to visit Shaxi , Lijiang , Shangrila , and hike Tiger Leaping Gorge! haha

  4. The Retiring Sort September 7, 2012 at 1:43 am #

    Lovely gallery of curves! Beautiful Photos!

  5. valerie September 7, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    I show those pics of Guilin to people and they always want to travel there – its a great place! One good place is Millenium Park – the bean and the band shell – both are modern curves.

    • gkm2011 September 7, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

      I agree – Millenium Park is beautiful. Next time I’m in Chicago I’ll have to take some more photos of the curves!

  6. Naomi Baltuck September 20, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    THis is a lovely series of photos, and perfect for the theme!

    • gkm2011 September 20, 2012 at 8:21 am #

      Thanks – I had a lot of fun choosing them. The theme is a good inspiration.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

