Follow-up post on Travel Theme: Signs

11 Sep

As I was going through my photos looking for something else, I found two more signs that fit very well into the Signs post that I posted several weeks ago.  They were taken when my family visited China in the summer of 2008 when we were taking a cruise down the Yangzte river towards the Three Gorges Dam.

Should you be scared when the “Look out!” is taped on with masking tape?

The first sign was literally taped to the tiny balcony of my room on the boat.  The Chinese is something more like please pay attention and be safe, but the English is definitely more aggressive.  At the time I couldn’t read the characters so we looked very carefully around to see what we need to look out for.  Looking back it’s even funnier now that I know what the sign says.

How can a sign prevent you from turning over?

The second sign was posted along the dam itself.  I believe from the picture that it is telling you not to jump over the edge but the translation really doesn’t share that same urgency.

Has anyone reading been there more recently? I wonder if these signs are still in place or they have been edited to be a little more enlightening.

Any other signs that you’ve seen lately?

3 Responses to “Follow-up post on Travel Theme: Signs”

  1. thirdeyemom September 11, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    These are great! Love them!

    • gkm2011 September 11, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      Thanks – too fun not to share!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The fifth quarter update « 中国 Jumble - October 16, 2012

    […] and it merited the most comments on a post that I had this month.  So much so that I posted a follow-up to the theme several weeks later.  If you didn’t comment so far – please click this link and let me […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

