Moving

16 Sep

Uggh.

How did I collect so many things over the last five years?

Moving is cathartic.  You clean out and throw away and repackage.

And it is a huge mess – you can’t find your shoes or something breaks or …

I am very much in the middle of a move – the apartment search that I wrote about was finally successful and I now have the keys (and just a couple of days) to move things from one building in my complex to another.

The apartment is just a little bit smaller (but with higher rent) and a slightly different layout, different furniture…

Packing though is a headache.  I have fortunately found a couple of things that have brought back good memories as I have packed to help ease the pain.

Yes – this was in my desk drawer- more than two years later!

Here is a shot of a ticket to the Shanghai Expo back in 2010 (I threw the ticket away after I took this photo – likely won’t be very useful for me anymore).  To accompany it here is a picture of my brother at the expo during his visit then.  I can’t believe that was two years ago!

My brother with the iconic Chinese pavilion back in 2010. It still exists and I think has been turned into a museum.

Going even further back here is a pair of socks (clean) that I was given on a flight on Philippine airlines.  Back in 2009 when going on my first business trip to Singapore I flew from Hawaii to Singapore (via Manila).  I had already made my travel plans when told I needed to go to a regional training.  That was a great trip to Hawaii with a very good friend and I’m guessing the socks were a result of that trip.

Socks… and a very nice Philippine Airlines bag

After I am moved in – I’ll take some photos to share the new apartment.  For the time being I’ll keep the disaster zone to myself.  I may be a little late on posting this week as I’m still trying to figure out the internet in the new place.

What’s your favorite (or least favorite) part of moving?

11 Responses to “Moving”

  1. thirdeyemom September 16, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    I hate moving but Love it once I’m settled in! Good luck!

    • gkm2011 September 16, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      Thanks – definitely not settled in yet – but give me a couple weeks!

  2. Kristin September 16, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Yayyy for the end of your apartment hunt! Actually, I meant to comment on that last house hunting post of yours but somehow WordPress didn’t let me. Your stories sounded EXACTLY like our house hunt here in Mexico last year. Including the last minute cancellation of the notary appointment.
    Funny enough, we are just hoping to close the deal on a new house as well, we will hopefully be moving next month. I agree, it is scary how much stuff we accumulate. And just imagine those people who hardly ever move, their houses must be cluttered! And I always hate unpacking the last boxes with the stuff that you want to keep but have no idea where to put them.
    However, like you, I like reliving memories during the packing process when you come across some forgotten memorabilia. Good luck with the move!!

    • gkm2011 September 16, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

      Thanks – I wonder if every expat has some sort of strange housing story. I wouldn’t wish those type of cancellations on anyone! Good luck with your own house search and I can’t wait to hear about it. Everything has now been “moved” but I am still running around trying to finish everything. I think it’ll take a while before I’m settled. I’ll take the luck though, I need it. 🙂

  3. expatlingo September 16, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Some odd things that I’ve found during various moves: (1) Ikea bookshelf hardware that had been “lost” for 3 years; (2) one missing shoe (I’d already thrown it’s match out); and (3) one very old, flat cockroach that we picked up in Zhuhai, had rested in our attic in Cambridge for three years, and which was then uncovered here in Hong Kong.

    Glad your move is going well!

    • gkm2011 September 17, 2012 at 8:49 am #

      The story about the shoe cracks me up! I haven’t found too many strange things yet – but there are two boxes that I just shuffled things in as fast as I could last week and didn’t actually look at the contents. All things are moved – hence begins the “unpacking” procedure.

  4. valerie September 16, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Favorite – looking forward to new beginnings, moving is part of the change in life.

    Good luck with the move and unpacking!

    • gkm2011 September 17, 2012 at 8:50 am #

      Thanks Val – I know – it’s healthy to pack up and clean out, but it does pull my stress levels up! However, last night I slept better than I’ve slept in a long time. Knowing that I won’t have to worry about where I’m living for at least a while is very nice.

  5. TEX September 18, 2012 at 6:11 am #

    We have lived in this same house for 30 years. Periodically you need to sort things and make decisions on what is really important enough to keep. It can be overwhelming, but you just have to decide. Helps if your kids take their stuff when they move on. TEX

    • gkm2011 September 19, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      I know, I know – I still have things in the States. Point well taken.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mooncakes and Autumn Holidays « 中国 Jumble - October 2, 2012

    […] the move a couple of week ago and the apartment search before that I never got around to booking tickets and […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

