Happy Birthday to me!

23 Sep

Happy Birthday to me!

At the time that this post will be published I will be cheering for my alma mater (Notre Dame) at an ungodly early hour (due to the time difference) in the annual rivalry against the University of Michigan. My family is a divided family – Notre Dame vs. Michigan where the taunting and heckling come out every year.

I remember once my grandmother called my father (different sides of the rivalry) and heckled him after Michigan won.  I’m lucky to be able to see the game this year.  After the game I plan on spending the afternoon at a spa.  Even though I am not yet fully unpacked, some “me” time will be the perfect antidote to a busy schedule.

Perhaps my birthday luck will lead the Irish to a victory?  I hope so.

18 Responses to “Happy Birthday to me!”

  1. Emily Messinger September 23, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    Watching Irish Football is quite iteresting! Hope you are enjoying it as much as I am. We hope you have a great Birthday! It should be a great year.

    • gkm2011 September 23, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Yes- a win for the Irish! Shaping up to be a great birthday.

  2. Naomi Baltuck September 23, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Happy birthday!

    • gkm2011 September 23, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      Thank you – a blue sky day – even better!

  3. jotsfromasmallapt September 23, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Many Many Happy Birthday (and Everyday) wishes to you!!!!!
    [Imagine I’m singing that Birthday Song to you…here!]

    • gkm2011 September 23, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      Thank you, thank you! Song received with a big smile.

  4. expatlingo September 23, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Happy Birthday!

    • gkm2011 September 24, 2012 at 9:16 am #

      Thank you! It was a great day 🙂

  5. Matt September 23, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    From St John Chrysostom to St. Padre Pio: ¡Feliz Cumpleaños!

    • gkm2011 September 24, 2012 at 9:17 am #

      Thank you (or rather gracias)! Good to hear from you and glad you’re following again. It was a great birthday – made better by so many notes and calls from friends and family.

  6. gap9299 September 24, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    happy happy birthday!!!! Hope the spa treated you well!!

    • valerie September 24, 2012 at 1:11 am #

      oh my – wonder how my name changed!

    • gkm2011 September 24, 2012 at 9:18 am #

      Perhaps you have an alter ego? Thanks for the birthday wishes!

  7. Madhu September 24, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Many happy returns of the day 🙂

    • gkm2011 September 24, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      Thank you! It was a wonderful day – one of the benefits about living in a different time zone than the majority of my family is that my birthday extends over multiple days. 🙂

  8. eof737 October 3, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    “Happy Belated Birthday to you! 🙂
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜
    ¸¸.•*¨*•░H░A░P░P░Y░(¯`’•.¸ *♥♥♥* ¸.•’´¯) ░B░I░R░ T░H░D░A░Y░ (¯`’•.¸*♥♥♥*¸.•’´¯) Hope you enjoyed YOUR special day!
    ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦╦═╣╚╣╚╦╝╠═╦╦╗
    ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║╬║║╔╣╔╣║║╬║╬║║║
    ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚═╩╩╝╚═╩╩╩═╩╩╩╗║
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Birthday .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥Happy Birthday to youuuuu ♪♫•*¨*•.¸.•*¨*•♫
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

    • gkm2011 October 3, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

      Thank you – it was a beautiful day.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Charitable giving in China « 中国 Jumble - October 25, 2012

    […] some with welcoming visitors from the University, different networking events, we have the game watches (of course!) and for the first time we had a barbeque/charity […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

