Weekly photo challenge – solitary

27 Sep

This week’s photo challenge is on being solitary.  To me, solitary sounds more interesting than alone – solitude is something positive – a chance to contemplate life and ground myself for a few moments.

I think it’s easy to do that type of contemplating when you’re by the sea.  The first photo is when we were at the sea in Shenzhen watching the waves crash onto the shore.  Li climbed down on the rocks and watched the waves while I snapped the photo.

The second photo Li took of me as I was enjoying the peace of the lake near Dali, in Yunnan province last November.  It was a long day and I remember just focusing, closing my eyes and relaxing while I heard the birds and waves.

Both of those photos are historic ones – but yesterday when I was in the office I realized that someone had put a teddy bear on the ledge by the window.  The bear really looked like it was contemplating life and looking out over the Shanghai skyline.  I had to take a photo.

May we all enjoy our solitude.  Which is your favorite?

To see other bloggers ideas on “solitary” please click the link at the beginning of my post.

11 Responses to “Weekly photo challenge – solitary”

  1. The Retiring Sort September 27, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Great gallery of solitary shots!

    • gkm2011 September 27, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      Thank you – some serious and some fun. 🙂

  2. valerie September 27, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    I like the shot of you – you look like you’re thinking about the moment. The teddy bear is cute too!

    • leahJlynn September 27, 2012 at 11:08 am #

      Yes, lovely pictures. I love be by water too.

      • gkm2011 September 27, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

        Water adds another dimension for sure. Thanks for the comment!

    • gkm2011 September 27, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      I like the shot of me as well – that’s my personal favorite.

  3. eof737 October 3, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    Finally catching up… this is peaceful. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge : “solitary” – A photoessay « Just another wake-up call - September 27, 2012

    […] Weekly photo challenge – solitary « 中国 Jumble […]

  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary | small house/BIG GARDEN - September 27, 2012

    […] Weekly photo challenge – solitary (zhongguojumble.wordpress.com) […]

  3. The fifth quarter update « 中国 Jumble - October 16, 2012

    […] of the WordPress challenges as well and the post with the most feedback was on the topic – Solitary.  The combination of beautiful photos from my travels (and my office) struck a chord with […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

