The Seoul Tower

30 Sep

During my recent trip to Seoul one of the highlights of the trip was visiting the Seoul Tower.  Seoul is set in a valley with mountains surrounding it – there are lots of hills and lakes – apparently the feng shui is one of the best possible for a city.  In Chinese there is a saying when you are looking for an apartment (有山有水) – that basically means that if you have a mountain at the back of the house and water in front – it is the perfect situation.  Seoul is a prime example.

You can see the mountains surrounding Seoul

Here you can see the mountains and the water – good location!

Another view of the city

At the top one of the hills that surround the city is the Seoul Tower.  We looked down at the city at dusk and enjoyed the view – Seoul spread out at your feet.  Closer in, the tower has also become a place for young couples to declare their love and to lock things of importance to them to the fences guarding people from the edge.   I was fascinated by the display – it was a modern version of the locks that I saw at the top of Mount Tai earlier this year.

Lots of different locks – and other symbols of love

The dustbin made me laugh. I don’t read Korean so I don’t know what it said – but it was unique.

The locks even tower over my head. I wonder how people put them at the top?

I think that my favorite was still the small dust bin that you can see above.  I looked through the entire collection (and there were thousands of locks) – and I didn’t see another like it.  Perhaps they believe cleaning together is the secret of marital bliss?

I wonder how the tradition started there – it’s not a holy place now, but perhaps in the past?  Who knows?

If you were going to “lock something up” as a symbol – what would it be?

12 Responses to “The Seoul Tower”

  1. Theabc September 30, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    I used to think this was unique to Asian/China, but I’ve seen these in Europe as well.

    • gkm2011 September 30, 2012 at 8:55 am #

      Really? Which cities? I’ve traveled Europe before, but admittedly some time ago. I think it’s a lovely concept.

  2. roomaomao September 30, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    I saw them in Germany!

    • gkm2011 September 30, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

      Interesting – maybe I should start something in the US!

  3. Kristin September 30, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    What a cute idea! Thanks for sharing! (and where are those in Germany? I’ve never seen anything like it.)

    • gkm2011 September 30, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

      It was really cute – my colleague and I were thinking that a mobile phone cover is actually really intimate since it is with you so much.

  4. eof737 October 3, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    What a fantastic idea… 😉

    • gkm2011 October 3, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

      Where would you put one?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. FRIDAY FEATURE: A 妹妹 (little sister) | Thirdeyemom - October 12, 2012

    […] Seoul Tower […]

  2. The fifth quarter update « 中国 Jumble - October 16, 2012

    […] I’ve posted on several different aspects of my visit to South Korea and my post on the Seoul Tower and the displays of locks there was my personal favorite over the last month.  Gotta love a dust […]

  3. Hualien Beach, Taiwan | 中国 Jumble - May 12, 2013

    […] the first post on my blog.  Last year I headed to Tengchong and then also slipped in a weekend in Korea with my colleagues.  This time we had 20 people on the bus, none of whom (myself included) had been […]

  4. Meiji Shrine in Tokyo | 中国 Jumble - August 4, 2013

    […] write our own, but viewed what others were hoping for.  It reminded me of the wishes I saw in Seoul and the locks attached to the Buddhist shrines in […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

