A night out with Maroon 5

7 Oct

Shanghai is turning into an international destination for concerts and I was lucky enough to attend the Maroon 5 concert just after my birthday with a good friend.  I had seen the announcements but never actually made the move to buy tickets and just a couple of weeks before he sent me a note asking me if I wanted to go.

What a happy coincidence!

Maroon 5 is a band that’s music has formed part of the backdrop of my adulthood – starting from college, then in Chicago and now in Shanghai.  They’ve been around a long time – though we were commenting that they don’t seem any older!  I think that’s because perhaps I am growing old with them?

We went to dinner first and then arrived by subway to the venue which is on the grounds of the former Shanghai Expo.  It’s very easy to get to and glowed in the night like the toys vendors sell on the Bund.

Mercedes Benz Arena is on the former expo site – my first concert there!

Most all of the seats were full though the audience itself was diverse.  To our right was a contingent of middle school students being chaperoned by two parents.  It was obvious that they didn’t have much history with the group, because at some point most of them sat down during the concert and started playing with their mobile phones.  The chaperones did look like they were having a pretty good time though.  To our left was a very dressed up couple who didn’t appear to be having a very good time – they didn’t really sing along or even smile for much of the concert.  I felt bad for them.

Enjoying the stage show and lights

In general though – all parties involved had a great time.  My friend and I were both hoarse by the end – we had sung every single lyric we recognized and escaped for an evening from the mundane.  It must be an incredible feeling as a musician to fly halfway around the world and find that the audience knows the words and can sing along with you.  Talk about globalization and power in music!

Have you gone to a concert recently?  Not all acts are good in concert, but the energy of a crowd with the lights and the show are a great experience.  What type of music do you enjoy?  What venue that you’ve visited made the experience that much better?  That night when I walked home from the subway I had the biggest grin on my face and a sound track in my head – a great evening.

Happy and tired after dancing and singing and having fun!

14 Responses to “A night out with Maroon 5”

  1. jotsfromasmallapt October 7, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Nice. Very nice.
    So enjoy your photos!!

    • gkm2011 October 7, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

      Thanks! It was a great concert – sometimes photos help make you remember it longer.

  2. sarahinguangzhou October 7, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    My first live concert in China (sorry cant remember band name) the band were going crazy on stage but audience (Chinese mostly) just sat in silence and applauded politely after each song. It was surreal.
    In the interval we went to the bar but they only sold tea.
    The band were going crazy saying ,c,mon dance, but only around 5 westernrrs got up

    • gkm2011 October 7, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      This was definitely more interactive – funny how much can change in a few years! I’ve been to concerts where the audience has talked over the performers as well – that’s another side I’d rather not see.

  3. Anne October 7, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Looks like fun! Next time you visit Austin I’ll be more mobile and we’ll check out a concert!

    • gkm2011 October 9, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

      Sounds like a great idea! Austin is full of so much music it puts Shanghai at the disadvantage.

  4. thirdeyemom October 8, 2012 at 4:14 am #

    Fun! I love this band too!

    • gkm2011 October 9, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

      Good to know. They gave a great concert!

  5. Christa October 8, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    One of my favorite all time bands is the Indigo Girls, for nostalgic reasons. Those were the most commonly performed songs around the campfire at the camp I grew up going to. A few weeks ago they were in Seattle, with the Seattle Symphony behind them! I couldn’t find anyone to go with me, but I wasn’t about to miss it, so I just went by myself. This is the first time they have ever done shows with orchestras. It so was incredible!!!!! It was the best show I have ever been to. I had a giant smile on my face the whole time. I love how much energy a good show gives you. I’m really hoping they release a recording of the songs they did with the orchestra, because it was really incredible. It added a whole different element to their music. Miss you!

    • gkm2011 October 9, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

      So good to hear from you. I bet the concert was amazing – orchestral accompaniment adds so much. I can relate to the huge grin too!

  6. eof737 October 8, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Good for you! Maroon 5 had a huge year in 2011, winning awards and having everybody play Dance Like Jagger endlessly! I go to concerts quite a bit and so far, my only bad memory is from the Jay-Z & Kanye West show. They were great, just some of their cronies were acting out. 😦

    • gkm2011 October 9, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      They closed the concert with Dance like Jagger but opened with their new hit Payphone. I like some of their older songs as well. I bet a Kanye West concert does have the potential for conflict.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Broadway in Shanghai « 中国 Jumble - November 4, 2012

    […] of concert I would ever pay for.  Would this be a similar experience or would it be more of the Maroon 5 concert – a great release from the pressure of Shanghai […]

  2. Elton John in Shanghai « 中国 Jumble - December 4, 2012

    […] Benz Arena (the same place that I rocked to Maroon 5 in September) was rocking, but there were still empty seats which was a little strange.  I think […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

