The fifth quarter update

16 Oct

The last quarter has been an exciting one from a blogging perspective – I pushed through some personal goals including over 300 clicks in one day and over 1500 clicks for a month (August)!  Even more than that though are the comments and stories that I hear from all of my readers.  Next week I’ll have made it to my 200th post.  Thank you for giving me the support and confidence to keep going on this journey.

Over the last quarter I also started participating in different weekly themes and challenges which have been very warmly received.  I feel like I am connecting to the greater blogging community and I even volunteered for a guest post on a popular blog – Third Eye Mom – and it was accepted for the author’s  (Nicole) Feature Friday series which just came out on last Friday, October 12th.

Personally I wasn’t sitting around much.  I had trips to Singapore, Shenzhen, Hong Kong and Korea as well as moving office space, finding and moving to a new apartment, celebrating my birthday, lots of Notre Dame alumni events and luckily a nice vacation (staycation) for October holidays to decompress.  Fall is my favorite season in Shanghai and I continue to enjoy each day – especially the blue sky days.

View from my old apartment

View from my old apartment -2

Below is a look back of some of the highlights over the last quarter.

Travel Themes – Travel themes are put forward each week by Ailsa of Where’s my Backpack and they are a spark of inspiration for posting ideas and lead to beautiful photos.  I don’t have the time or patience to find perfect photos each week, but when I have – it’s been incredible.

Travel Theme – Leading Lines was the first time I participated and the photo of the moon over Lake Huron remains one of my favorite shots of all time.

Moon over Lake Huron

Travel Theme – Signs was another contribution and it merited the most comments on a post that I had this month.  So much so that I posted a follow-up to the theme several weeks later.  If you didn’t comment so far – please click this link and let me know which sign is your personal favorite.

Most popular – the post which received the most clicks that I wrote this month was my post on Buying a jade bangle in Hong Kong.  I guess there must be many others looking to do the same thing.  An update – the bruise on my hand from getting it off the first day did heal, but each time I put it on I soap up my hand and the bracelet to ensure that does not happen again.  I think it is the cleanest piece of jewelry I own!

Weekly photo challenge – I participated in a couple of the WordPress challenges as well and the post with the most feedback was on the topic – Solitary.  The combination of beautiful photos from my travels (and my office) struck a chord with readers.  What is solitary for you?

Travel post – I’ve posted on several different aspects of my visit to South Korea and my post on the Seoul Tower and the displays of locks there was my personal favorite over the last month.  Gotta love a dust bin with sweet words on it!

Changing Shanghai – I noted several different conflicts that I expect will continue as Shanghai continues to urbanize.  Two to call out here include – when I ran into my office cleaning lady washing her hair in the sink – in Two Different Worlds and when I snapped photos of the abandonment of buildings near a very popular street I live on in Urban Shanghai.  These posts make me think and hopefully remember a specific point in time in this changing city.

Which was your favorite over the last quarter?  If I missed it – let me know which post and why.  Happy fall and hope to hear from you soon.

4 Responses to “The fifth quarter update”

  1. thirdeyemom October 18, 2012 at 1:57 am #

    Great updates and thanks for the mention and for participating!!!:) keep up the great work!

    • gkm2011 October 18, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      Thanks! You too. 🙂

  2. Amy October 22, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    Thank you for the update! Somehow, I can’t get the like working… 😕

    • gkm2011 October 23, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

      Sorry to hear that the “like” didn’t work, but I appreciate the comment!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

