Travel theme – On Display

18 Oct

After a several week hiatus from Ailsa’s travel themes, when I saw the latest theme I knew that I would participate.  The theme is – On Display.  The concept is that when you travel you often buy goods or spend time browsing looking for the perfect souvenir to take home.  The stores or displays themselves can turn into a representation of that trip.

My favorite souvenirs are magnets – my refrigerator is currently covered with magnets that remind me of my travels all over the world, but that wasn’t the first image that came to my head.  Instead I thought of my family’s trip to China over four years ago and some of the amazing things that were available for purchase.

During that trip there were two stops – one in Beijing and one in Xi’an that I still remember today.  The first was a stop at a cloisonne factory where they showed us the process to make the intricately painted porcelain vases that are a stereotype of China.   When you see how long it takes to do, it makes the prices seem more affordable.

Putting on the metal design into the cloisonne

Adding the color

Surrounded by samples, finishing the color adding

Removing the vases from the furnace

A very large example of a cloisonne vase. Probably not for resale, but in China, you never know.

The showroom – finished products on display

The second stop was a factory/showroom where they reproduced terra cotta warriors in Xi’an.  They showed us the small figures and also the life sized ones.  My parents purchased several of them to take home.

Miniature molds

Dad with a reconstructed head

Two additional soldiers “on display” at the sales office.

I may do another post on this topic in the future as I think I have other shots that also would work, but for the time being – these displays are what I have to share.  To see how others decided to display their choices, please click the link at the beginning of the post.

What has been your favorite souvenir?  What do you like to see on display?

6 Responses to “Travel theme – On Display”

  1. lagottocattleya October 20, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    China and Xian really have got things on display! I would like to buy so many things…but one or two only is possible!

    • gkm2011 October 20, 2012 at 8:46 am #

      Yes – China does not lack for displays! The silk markets are also fabulous but I couldn’t find photos that did them justice. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Amy October 22, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    Incredible hand works for the cloisonne… Beautiful photos!

    • gkm2011 October 23, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      Yes, I agree – the hand shaping and painting really made me understand the artistry and work that go into each piece.

  3. Russel Ray Photos November 1, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    • gkm2011 November 3, 2012 at 9:31 am #

      Thanks for stopping by and “camping” – It’s always great to see that others can connect with my posts.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

