Hunan Food in Xintiandi

28 Oct

Hunan food is a cuisine that I am not nearly as familiar with as some of the other Chinese styles, but I do know two things.

1) Hunan province is the hometown of Chairman Mao.

2) The most famous dish is 多椒鱼头(Duo Jiao Yu Tou) – Double Pepper Spiced Fish Head

Most Hunan food is very heavily spiced – think Sichuan food without the numbness, but there are also dishes that help cut the heat.  It’s good to eat as the weather starts getting cooler.  The fish head actually has a lot of meat on it, they cut the head below the gills, but there are quite a few bones, so probably not the best dish to eat with small children.

Recently I saw that there was a new Hunan restaurant opened in the Xintiandi area, close to my apartment so we tried it out late one afternoon.  Li did research on the Chinese restaurant review pages and I did on the English versions and between the two of us we ordered a very satisfying lunch.

The famous double pepper spiced fish head. It was excellent!

Of course we ordered the fish head, and we also ordered two more dishes – one a non-spicy hand made tofu dish and the second a bubbling hot pot dish.  Here’s a photo below.

Another special dish – but this one is less obvious. Any guesses?

I’ll see if anyone can figure out what it is.   I’m not sure I would guess correctly if I didn’t already know what it was. Please put your guesses in the comments – I’ll be looking forward to hearing from you.

14 Responses to “Hunan Food in Xintiandi”

  1. Madhu October 29, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Is that beer braised duck? I remember how much I researched restaurants prior to our visit in 2009. There must be a whole string of new places now!

    • gkm2011 October 29, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      Good guess, but not correct! No one else was brave enough to take a guess though. I’ll post the answer in a day or so.

  2. roomaomao November 2, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    Bullfrog hot pot? I always get one of those at my favorite Hunan joint , Spicy Moment!

    • gkm2011 November 3, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      That’s a good place too. No, this was not bullfrog hotpot but thank you for guessing. I’ll post the answer shortly!

      • roomaomao November 4, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

        We’re stumped and eagerly awaiting the answer so we can go eat it.

      • gkm2011 November 4, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

        Tuesday – I promise! Been very busy lately.

      • roomaomao November 5, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

        No worries!

  3. Matt November 3, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    I was also thinking duck, perhaps in a sausage form, along with a Chinese sauerkraut.

    This reminds me of the time I tried to make fish head soup back in DC (with a salmon head I had left over from another meal). I found a Vietnamese recipe online, and ultimately conceded it didn’t turn out so well. On the other hand, I’ve never had authentic Vietnamese fish head soup, so who knows how I did?

    • gkm2011 November 3, 2012 at 9:48 am #

      I have had Chinese fish head soup, but never Vietnamese, so I can’t comment but the Chinese version is very good so perhaps you needed a different recipe. 🙂

      Good guess, but no, this is not duck – in fact there is no meat in this dish at all. I’ll be posting the answer soon. Understand you may be seeing my brother this weekend so please say hi to him from me!

  4. Naomi Baltuck November 5, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    I love a mystery!

    • gkm2011 November 6, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      Just posted the answer! Was your guess close?

  5. eof737 November 6, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    And now that I found out after the fact, I would have never guessed bonita flakes on top? 😉

    • gkm2011 November 6, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

      Me either actually!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Duck! « 中国 Jumble - November 6, 2012

    […] – as a follow-up.  Thank you to the three brave souls who guessed what my dish was at the Hunnan restaurant a week ago Sunday.  None of the guesses were close – it was a bubbling eggplant hotpot with […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

