Cabin fever

8 Nov

I have been in Shanghai continuously since my trip to Korea at the beginning of September almost two months ago and I have a serious case of cabin fever.

We had debated traveling over the October holiday but with my apartment move and then getting sick, it was just too much at the time.  Personal traveling right now is tough with Li’s work schedule as his business travel schedule is intense.  My business travel has been cut back [cost control before the end of the year]. And now I’m antsy.

It’s not to say that the last two months haven’t been busy and I have a trip back to the US planned for Christmas so in theory I shouldn’t feel like this.  I’ve channeled it into lots of fun things – meetings with friends, more yoga classes (I finally learned how to say “Downward Facing Dog” the other day! 下犬式), concerts, Notre Dame events, trying out my new oven.  But the last couple of weeks the feeling just keeps coming back.

Maybe go to Xiamen for a weekend?  How about I fly to Hong Kong?  Buy tickets to Singapore?  I went to dinner with an acquaintance last week and she was going to Moganshan and I thought about asking her if I could go too – even though it was a group of German expats and I don’t speak German.  I’m even considering just going by myself off for a bit.

I’m trying to take this feeling as a positive note.  Last year I was burned out – the idea of extra travel made me want to dive under the covers and turn off the light (but even so I did go to Shenzhen and Kunming/Dali with Li in November of 2011).  The fact that I have enough energy to be antsy means that I am doing better in balancing my life and work.

Where should I fly?

So – where do you think I should go?  Any travel recommendations?  I’m looking for a two to three day trip that I can fit in between now and Christmas.  I even have Air China and China Eastern miles that I could use to get my tickets.  All suggestions are welcome.

14 Responses to “Cabin fever”

  1. valerie November 8, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Somewhere with a beach (and if you do, I will be wishing I was there with you!)

    • David November 8, 2012 at 10:36 am #

      Chicago!

      • gkm2011 November 8, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

        A bit far, but yes a possibility.

    • gkm2011 November 8, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      I hope I can manage beach!

    • gkm2011 November 8, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      I wish so too!

  2. sarahinguangzhou November 8, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    I so understand the whole itchy feet thing. If I’ve been in the same place for a while I find myself getting so jealous of other people’s trips. It was always hard to find somewhere to go just for a couple of days; you always seem to spend most of your time travelling for just a few hour’s real holiday.
    Xiamen is nice if you haven’t been. I struggled because there’s not much English spoken but obviously you’d be all right there. You can go and see the round houses nearby.
    If you go back to HK you should go to Lamma island before they completely ruin it.

    • gkm2011 November 8, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Xiamen is a place I was considering. I have heard a lot of positives there.

  3. expatlingo November 8, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    Come to Hong Kong; meet me for dinner 😉

    I understand the itchy feet thing. Is it too late for autumn leaves in Kyoto? If I were fancy free that’s what I’d do right now.

    • gkm2011 November 9, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

      Thanks for the invite (and the idea).

  4. annaamazhang November 12, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    Pingyao for something different and very cultured part of China.

    • gkm2011 November 12, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      I actually don’t know where Pingyao is! I’ll have to do some research.

      • annaamazhang November 12, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

        Shan Xi Province. A little West of Beijing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel theme – bright « 中国 Jumble - November 11, 2012

    […] considering the suggestions I received as far as my next destination from my post on Thursday on Cabin Fever.  As soon as I decide I will let you […]

  2. Happy Thanksgiving! « 中国 Jumble - November 22, 2012

    […] of traveling to places yet unseen (as I discussed in my Cabin Fever post) I instead decided to throw a Thanksgiving party.  Later today, I’ll be having nearly a […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

