Exploring – The Shanghai Postal Museum – almost

13 Nov

A few months ago I read an article on Shanghai’s top 10 museums.  I had already been to over half of them, but there were still a few on the list that I hadn’t heard of or had the chance to explore yet.  On a recent wet Saturday afternoon I decided to cross one off my list – the Shanghai Postal Museum.

The reason why I chose that museum was two-fold.  When I first moved to China the International Channel Shanghai (ICS) sponsored a show called Shanghai Rush that was an Amazing Race type show.  I remember seeing one of the very first episodes where the contestants had to race to the top of the post office museum during one of the challenges.  The open space and grand building has stayed with me over the last several years.

The second reason I chose that museum was because it was the closest and I could take the subway right there.  I didn’t feel like going out to Jiading or Minhang – though I’m sure I will go eventually.

The museum is just on the north side of Suzhou Creek close to the Tiantong subway station on Line 10.  I didn’t think I had ever been in that area before but when I came out of the subway station I was completely surprised.  That area was Qipu Lu – one of the very first places that I went to when I arrived in Shanghai.  It is a huge set of buildings all full of stalls with different types of clothing of dubious origin as well as bags and glasses and scarves all surrounded by different snack stalls where you can find whatever delights you’d like.

The stores were swarming with young people looking for the perfect bargain, but that wasn’t my mission (and I know that the sizes in those places make me feel like a football player)  so I made my way outside and started looking for the museum.

I walked along the creek and eventually saw it – a large building with beautiful columns in the Greek style.  But, when I got there – there was a sign on the front saying that the exhibit halls would be closed to the public at least through the end of November!  That is one risk of reading magazines a couple of months after publication.

First view of the museum (before I knew it was closed)

Tower at the corner of the Postal Museum

A kind security guard told me that I could still go in and look at the working part of the post office which was on the second floor – a huge open space with many people busily posting packages and purchasing stamps.  At one end of the space was a beautiful mural demonstrating all of the different ways that a postal carrier could deliver the mail.  I snapped some great shots of the mural, but the museum itself I’ll have to return – to be safe, probably next year.

Your friendly mail carrier

Even the bird has a letter to mail

Mail of the future (on computers)

Where is your friendly neighborhood post box?

A bicycle mailman – along with a camel. I’m not sure what part of China this is – must be the far west.

A mail truck

It was a disappointment for sure, but I have time to go back.  Have you ever tried to go see something only to find out that it was closed?

5 Responses to “Exploring – The Shanghai Postal Museum – almost”

  1. TBM November 13, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    That’s a shame, but the mural is cool. And you’ve reminded me that I need to start checking off the museums in London.

    • gkm2011 November 13, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      I know, when you live somewhere it is easy to push back the local sites. Always time later…

  2. Matt December 21, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    When I went to Lynne’s college graduation in Minnesota (back in 2005), I drove there from Washington D.C. For my journey home, I decided to drive up through the U.P. and Canada, but first start with the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in northern Minnesota. I spent the night in Virginia, MN, and drove the next morning back to Eveleth where I found the museum “Closed for the Winter.” In mid-May.

    So to make up for that disappointment, I stopped by both the Bobby Orr Hall of Fame (Parry Sound, ON) and the Hockey Hall of Fame (Toronto) as my travels continued.

    • gkm2011 December 22, 2012 at 7:52 am #

      Well, at least you had (or found) a plan B! I hope to try again in 2013.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Shanghai Postal Museum – finally! | 中国 Jumble - October 31, 2013

    […] had tried to go to the Shanghai postal museum last year only to find out it was closed.  Recently I had a friend in town and so when he asked for things […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

