Chinese favorites at home

15 Nov

The happy and colorful trio

I don’t cook very much during the week.  Even though I am doing better balancing work and life – weeknights are still tight.  I have had more time lately though to cook on the weekends.  Typically I cook western style food – pasta, macaroni and cheese, tuna melts, omelets, crepes are all familiar dishes that  I can cook by rote.  Recently I have attempted two free form apple pies and baked muffins and brownies since I now have an oven!

If I eat Chinese at home it’s typically Li playing the chef.   He makes great Chinese style pork ribs and has a shrimp dish that I crave occasionally.  He makes stir fries look easy and so I let him do that part and I am the prep cook.  With all of his travel though, I don’t think he’s actually cooked a full meal at my apartment since I moved in September.

This led me to a weekend night where I didn’t have plans and was craving Chinese food.  I didn’t want to go to a restaurant and so, I dug in and made two favorite dishes – myself (with only one call to Li).

The first dish is the only one that I make regularly – it’s fried eggs and tomatoes – Chinese style.  The ingredients are basic – oil, ginger, garlic, salt, tomatoes, eggs, ketchup and a little chicken bouillon powder.

I learned the hard way that you cook the eggs first to a runny level, then pull them out of the wok, then add the tomatoes, ketchup, bouillon and salt, cook until soupy and then put the eggs back in.  It’s comfort food.

A mini-portion of the eggs and tomatoes – one tomato, two small eggs; luscious the next day as well

The second dish is not one I typically cook myself, but at the supermarket I picked up a “ready meal pack” with pea pods and Chinese sausage included – all ready for frying.  I’ve watched Li do it before, but still called to confirm if I cook the sausage first (you do), then pull it out.  I remembered to add salt and a little more chicken bouillon and just a shot of water to steam the peas.

The luscious green of the pea pods accented by the salty sausage

It was a delicious dinner with lots of leftovers and in honor of my first multiple dish Chinese dinner – I snapped a couple of photos.

Getting ready to chow down.

Have you tried cooking the food of another country after a trip?  Sometimes I try recipes – I remember one quite unfortunate African peanut soup that I attempted a year or so ago.  Wouldn’t recommend that one.  If you’d like more exact recipes on the dishes above let me know and I’ll be happy to share.

6 Responses to “Chinese favorites at home”

  1. valerie November 16, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    I’ve tried and failed at multiple dishes from my travels (my homemade chinese food is horrible) – so more reason to just keep travelling and leave the work to the local chefs (or at least stick to take out 🙂

    • gkm2011 November 16, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      That also has its merits, but I think it also means you should come back to China to visit so we can try even more delicious food!

  2. Anne November 16, 2012 at 3:24 am #

    I want a lesson at Christmas on how to make the tomatoe and egg dish!

    • gkm2011 November 16, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      Ok, one lesson coming up! That is the one dish I have down cold.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Expanding my Chinese cooking repertoire | 中国 Jumble - May 26, 2013

    […] this year I posted on two classic dishes that I can make with ease – fried eggs and tomatoes and peapods with sausage.  They remain favorites, but slowly I am experimenting with more techniques and Asian flavors at […]

  2. A telephone booth with a twist | 中国 Jumble - October 4, 2014

    […] is a staple food in China, though it is more likely to be used with fried eggs and tomatoes than French fries.  I can’t remember the last time I had seen a print ad for ketchup and it […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

