Playing peekaboo with the Pearl Tower

20 Nov

When I went in search of the Shanghai Postal Museum it was a misty, rainy, foggy day.  Each time I turned a corner or crossed the creek, I had beautiful views of Lujiazui – the financial center of Shanghai – from a point of view that I had never seen before.

The most recognizable shape on the Lujiazui skyline is the Pearl Tower (东方明珠) and it seemed as though it was playing peekaboo with me through the mist.  Here are some of my favorite shots from that afternoon walk.

Which is your favorite?  Have you had the opportunity to see something from a different perspective than the normal?  How long did it take you to notice how neat the new perspective was?

It would be nice to go back on a clear day and see how the skyline looks without the mist.

I’d also like to give a shout out to my dad for celebrating his birthday yesterday.  Happy Birthday!

4 Responses to “Playing peekaboo with the Pearl Tower”

  1. roomaomao November 20, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    I love walking around Hongkou district and suddenly seeing the skyline of Pudong pop up from behind a building while overlooking a canal. The old and the new! One of the craziest places to see the Pudong skyline was when I was at the astronomical oberservatory on SheShan. That’s super long away and I did not expect to be able to see it. Happy B-Day to Pops!

    • gkm2011 November 20, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      I’ll pass along the birthday wishes! When I went to Sheshan it was not, shall we say, a blue sky day. But that does make sense why they built the observatory there. They must have been able to see very far at the time.

      • roomaomao November 21, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

        Before the smog , back to a time when one could actually see the stars!

      • gkm2011 November 21, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

        Exactly!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

