Happy Thanksgiving!

22 Nov

A Thanksgiving gift several years ago – he will be celebrating with me this year as well!

Although Thanksgiving is not celebrated in China, it is still one of my favorite holidays.  In previous years I have been invited over to the house of good friends, but this year they will be in the US visiting their children, so I was forced to come up with a Plan B.

Instead of traveling to places yet unseen (as I discussed in my Cabin Fever post) I instead decided to throw a Thanksgiving party.  Later today, I’ll be having nearly a dozen people over for turkey and all the trimmings and good company.  It will be the first time I’ll have had visitors over to the new place and it seems like a great way to celebrate with friends.

Just about everyone I’ve invited has lived in the US for at least a couple of years, but aside from some of the children who will be running around, I am the only native born American.  Traditionally the US has been welcoming of visitors from other shores, so hopefully my small party will continue in that tradition.

More to come after the fact – Happy Thanksgiving to all of you from China!  May this special time of year serve to remind us how lucky we are and consider those less fortunate than ourselves.

What is your favorite Thanksgiving tradition?

9 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. Anne November 22, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    Happy Thanksgiving!!! Much love to you. I must admit I miss my Turkey sweatshirt.

    • gkm2011 November 22, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      Thanksgiving hugs to you from Shanghai! I miss your turkey sweatshirt too. Eat some turkey!

  2. expatlingo November 22, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Such a nice holiday.

    • gkm2011 November 22, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      You too! I agree, one of my favorites. It hasn’t been commercialized to within an inch of its life like other days.

  3. Valerie November 23, 2012 at 3:57 am #

    Happy Thanksgiving! Hope the turkey is gobbled up!

    • gkm2011 November 24, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      It was super good. Pictures to come in the future once I find a few minutes to breathe.

  4. Kristin November 23, 2012 at 4:22 am #

    Happy Thanksgiving! I hope your evening was a success!

    • gkm2011 November 24, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      It was! Photos to come.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Celebrating Thanksgiving in Shanghai « 中国 Jumble - November 27, 2012

    […] Thursday night I celebrated Thanksgiving with a wonderful group of friends that I have met over the last five years in Shanghai.  The […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

