Celebrating Thanksgiving in Shanghai

27 Nov

The happy crew

Last Thursday night I celebrated Thanksgiving with a wonderful group of friends that I have met over the last five years in Shanghai.  The twelve of us (some new friends and some old), celebrated with a traditional turkey dinner that had the best turkey most of the table had ever eaten.

I ordered it all – no food preparation in my kitchen at all except for deviled eggs and my friend Marcus who made stuffed tomatoes.  This was predicated by two things – 1) Thanksgiving is not a holiday here, so I had to work on Thursday and 2) my oven decided to break the Sunday before Thanksgiving.  The stress free way, then was delivery!

City Shop, the local supermarket chain has a delivery service and previous years I had had their turkeys as well.  They did not disappoint.

Beautiful bird

One of the joys was that two of my friends brought their kids and so we had four kids under the age of six who were there as well, full of energy and really cute!  It was the first time that three of the four of them had turkey, so I am now part of their cultural history!

Luckily one of my acquaintances had recommended that I print off some Thanksgiving coloring pages to keep them occupied while we ate.  They worked like a charm!  I need to keep that in mind for future events.

Showing off her turkey!

As we were finishing up the main course and before we had a chance to cut the pies that I ordered (my mother’s pie is still hands down better than the pie that was delivered) my parents called!  We were able to use my iPad to connect them to the gathering and share some of our enthusiasm with them.  Technology at its best.

Introducing the crew to mom & dad

Here are a few other photos from our evening.  What a wonderful night!

Monica carving the turkey! She did a great job.

The feast

Li and me

I am thankful for many things including the opportunity to celebrate this holiday here in Shanghai in my new apartment.  It was the first time I had people over and was a resounding success.

I am also thankful for my readers of the blog and your continued support and interest in my Shanghai adventures.  Thank you for your visits and comments.  May Thanksgiving morph from a holiday into a state of mind for us all.

This post is also my response to the Weekly Photo Challenge – Thankful.  If you’d like to see what others are thankful for, you can click here.

19 Responses to “Celebrating Thanksgiving in Shanghai”

  1. expatlingo November 27, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    I love these pictures of you Thanksgiving feast with friends in Shanghai. Looks like a warm and fun evening.

    • gkm2011 November 28, 2012 at 7:24 am #

      We had a great time. Hosting an event like this with friends can be very rewarding. I am inspired to do it more.

  2. sarahinguangzhou November 27, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    I did that exact same colouring page with my kindie kids last year. Nice photos.

    • gkm2011 November 28, 2012 at 7:25 am #

      Small world! We both must have googled the same thing!

  3. TBM November 27, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Looks like you have a lot to be thankful for. We celebrated in London, but I didn’t color any turkeys. Next year.

    • gkm2011 November 28, 2012 at 7:26 am #

      The coloring does add a nice element! Glad you celebrated too. 🙂

  4. Valerie November 28, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • gkm2011 November 29, 2012 at 7:19 am #

      You too! Did you cook this year? I’d imagine you did something special.

  5. eof737 November 28, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    What a wonderful feast… 🙂
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Have a gratitude filled week ahead! .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

    • gkm2011 November 29, 2012 at 7:20 am #

      I have a lot to be thankful for. You too.

  6. Naomi Baltuck November 29, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    This looks like a great party! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • gkm2011 November 29, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      It was one for the memory books. Lots of laughter and cheer and friends. Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. Mona December 7, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Thank you for sharing your friends with us.

    • gkm2011 December 7, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      Glad to share! Thank you for stopping by.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thank God for Friends! « Just another wake-up call - November 27, 2012

    […] Celebrating Thanksgiving in Shanghai « 中国 Jumble […]

  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful | Humbled Pie - November 30, 2012

    […] Celebrating Thanksgiving in Shanghai « 中国 Jumble […]

  3. The sixth quarter update « 中国 Jumble - January 15, 2013

    […] Celebrating Thanksgiving in Shanghai – my first ever Thanksgiving dinner (as hostess) was a resounding success and my readers enjoyed it as well. […]

  4. Summer slippers | 中国 Jumble - June 2, 2013

    […] while winter slippers are more for warmth and ankle coverage is the ideal.  When I had my big Thanksgiving party last year, I counted to make sure that I had enough slippers for all guests.  I like the fact […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

