Sparkles in Xintiandi

18 Dec

Another one of my favorite decorations during this holiday time in Shanghai is the white lights that surround Xintiandi park.  Each evening as I walk home from work I am surrounded by their twinkles.  The reflections on the water with the apartments behind make the walk home even more soothing than normal.

Xintiandi stars

We’ve had some cold weather (close to freezing), and it was even cold and clear for quite a while.  Those nights, if I looked closely I can just pick out a couple of real stars far above in the night sky.  With Christmas coming that has even more meaning.

Twinkle, twinkle little star…

What twinkles in your life?

6 Responses to “Sparkles in Xintiandi”

  1. David December 18, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Your photos are great. I wish I could go out and take some pictures this season, but that’s not happening!

    • gkm2011 December 20, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      Well, that was taken with my phone, so I think you could still find a few minutes. Careful with the blizzard warnings in Chicago over the next few days!

  2. Matt December 19, 2012 at 5:24 am #

    87 deg F in Corpus Christi today. I should probably give up my hope for a white Christmas…

    • gkm2011 December 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      Well, heard you may be heading northwards so perhaps you’ll have a white new year!

  3. ladyofthecakes December 19, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    Lovely 🙂
    I’ve also been out taking pics … so you’ll be able to admire Christmas in Toledo tonight!

    • gkm2011 December 20, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      Sounds great! Will check it out.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

