Sweet treats and Christmas wishes

20 Dec
Frosted wreaths?  Fa la la la la

Frosted wreaths? Fa la la la la

I was in the bread store by my house looking to buy some toast and happened to notice that they had gone all out for Christmas.  I snapped a photo because the bread was so cute.

Candy cane twists (or Santa's stick as the sign said)

Candy cane twists (or Santa’s stick as the sign said)

The best part however was that the women working in the shop were also wearing hats with attached sparkly reindeer antlers.  I didn’t have the guts to take a photo with them, but the hats certainly made me smile.

Can't forget we're in China!

Can’t forget I’m in China!

In the last week the Christmas decorations really have gone into overdrive.  Even my apartment complex has put up Santa cut-outs on the doors and there is a Christmas tree on the first floor by the mailboxes.  I got a massage and the dental clinic next door had a tree with a pile of wrapped presents under it.

One of the things that I really enjoy about China is that people aren’t so worried about being “politically correct.”  At McDonalds they wear Santa hats, at the bread store there are sparkly reindeer antlers.  People dress up in all kinds of costumes and outfits for work and don’t really worry too much about it.  That sense of fun appeals to me.

That said, I am very much looking forward to heading home for Christmas and celebrating with family and friends.  As such, I’ll be taking a break from the blog through the end of the year to focus on what is really important – sharing time with loved ones.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all of my readers!  Thank you for your support and I’ll see you in 2013!  I wonder what will happen next year?

22 Responses to “Sweet treats and Christmas wishes”

  1. expatlingo December 20, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Have a wonderful Christmas and Happy New Year back “home”!

    • gkm2011 December 20, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

      Thank you! Keeping fingers crossed for a White Christmas!

  2. abc in shanghai December 20, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    funny how all of the xmas decorations seem to really be out in force this year – more than last and the previous (so it would seem). i don’t quite think most chinese understand what christmas really is – i’ve asked a few young folks and have gotten “… gift giving … put up tree …” and the like. just another reason for chinese to celebrate something? perhaps go out and buy more things at the market and decorate their homes? wanting to be a bit more western perhaps? have a nice holiday though!

    • gkm2011 December 20, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

      I agree, this year there has been many more decorations than usual and that the meaning behind them isn’t there. I suppose to make traditions it will just take more time and patience. Christmas wishes back to you!

  3. sylvia December 20, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Merry Christmas. Have a lovely time at home!

    • gkm2011 December 20, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      I shall. Looking forward to the egg nog and cookies!

      • sylvia December 20, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

        oh, egg nog…I pretty much forgot about that. Googling recipes now 🙂

  4. Kristin December 21, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    Have a very merry Christmas and a great and exciting new year! Enjoy your time at home!

    • gkm2011 December 21, 2012 at 1:59 am #

      I shall! Already looking like a white Christmas may be in the cards. Best wishes for 2013 as well!

  5. Valerie December 21, 2012 at 5:22 am #

    Merry Christmas! Have a good time with your family!!

    • gkm2011 December 21, 2012 at 5:59 am #

      Thanks much! Merry Christmas to you too!

  6. ladyofthecakes December 21, 2012 at 6:17 am #

    I have the dreadful suspicion that there’s horrid red bean paste concealed in those pandas… please tell me I’m wrong!

    • gkm2011 December 22, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      I cannot confirm or deny that because I didn’t eat one! Fingers crossed.

      • ladyofthecakes December 22, 2012 at 7:58 am #

        OK, let’s both imagine, then, that they are filled with something delicious 🙂 Turrón!!

  7. Naomi Baltuck December 22, 2012 at 4:17 am #

    Thank you for another fun post. A very merry Christmas to you!

    • gkm2011 December 22, 2012 at 7:52 am #

      Merry Christmas back at you!

  8. becky6259 December 23, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    Hope you have a fantastic Christmas at home with your family! This post just made my mouth water and is so cute and Christmassy! Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my post as well — I look forward to more of yours!

    • gkm2011 December 24, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      It is shaping up to be that way! Welcome to Jumble and hope to hear from you more in the future!

  9. eof737 January 4, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    Delish…. Happy Holidays! 🙂

    • gkm2011 January 5, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

      Back at you – and happy new year!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmasaholic | Mrs. City Boy - December 22, 2012

    […] Sweet treats and Christmas wishes (zhongguojumble.wordpress.com) […]

  2. The sixth quarter update « 中国 Jumble - January 15, 2013

    […] Sweet treats and Christmas wishes – this was a post where I noticed the globalization in my local bread store with Christmas specials of different types of bread. […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

