Waiting and waiting and…

10 Jan

I try not to rant on this blog very much.  I use it as an avenue to recognize the positive and make sure that I notice the beautiful – whether that beautiful is a great meal, a sunset or just something that makes me smile.

Sometimes though, it is hard to stay positive.

My office building is still under construction.  When I was home for Christmas they made marked progress, taking away most of the scaffolding and in general sprucing things up.  To great fanfare the main doors opened a week ago so an entrance that has been closed for nearly two years is now available.

And yet, that is only the outside appearances that they care about – the Chinese building owner equivalent of “saving face.”  Our office head told me that there is an opening ceremony on January 18th.  There is a long way to go and inside, it is mutiny.

The elevators have been under construction for months and now that they have unveiled the “new look” there is no way to tell which elevator door will open and so you have to scurry towards the door with the rest of the crowd and hope there is still space.  One day two of the four elevators that serve our floor were broken and I waited 15 minutes to go to lunch and then another 10 minutes to come back upstairs after.  I feel like I should be reimbursed for the wasted time.

Our office administrator has joined an action committee with other tenants for the slow moving construction.  There have been construction people during business hours standing on our desks, they have turned out the lights, there are power outages and phone outages.  We have been informed that shortly (though they said it at the beginning of December initially) the bathroom on our floor will be closed and we will have to go to another floor to use the restroom.

Our bathrooms here have been used by the floor below us for nearly two months.  There are only three stalls for probably over 200 women (hence the title of this post).  It makes me want to cry and scream and resort to physical violence – my yoga toned body has given me a pretty strong kicking leg, but who to kick?  There are no other options except I suppose getting dehydrated and not using the facility at all, but my body has not reached that level of self control as of yet, though give me another year and it might.

Coming to work physically makes my stomach turn and emotionally puts me in an extremely negative frame of mind.  I have tried re-framing, I have tried working from home (which I did for a period earlier this year, one day a week), but every time I enter my mood darkens.  What power the place where we spend our time has over our mood and life!

At this point everything the building management says is now met with skepticism by me.  I don’t believe our office committee, the doormen and especially the announcements that the building sends out (unless they are indicating the power is going out – those announcements always seem to be about two hours before).

So what do you do?  What do you do when there is nothing you can do?  I know that I need the courage to accept the things I cannot change, but I lack it, I really do.  How to keep positive?

Any suggestions welcome.  I’m sure I’ll get out of this funk eventually – it has been exaggerated by the fact that I have to work 8 days in a row under China’s lovely annual holiday reorganization plans and I am just over 6 days in.  I would guess that it is also post-holiday let-down as well.  More positive posts to come.

Please share your advice on how to get through this period.

9 Responses to “Waiting and waiting and…”

  1. expatlingo January 10, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    This won’t help with the construction problem, but might help your long restroom wait: band together with the other 200 women and take over the stalls in the men’s restroom.

    This all sounds really annoying, especially as there is no end in sight….

    • gkm2011 January 10, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

      The guys actually were even complaining the other day. You know it’s bad when even they notice!

  2. roomaomao January 10, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Yikes , dealing with all that and having to see it 8 days in a row. Feel free to kick anyone with a clipboard who looks official.

    • gkm2011 January 10, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      That seems like a good idea, or perhaps someone with an official looking name tag!

      • roomaomao January 10, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

        What kind of work do you do here? I’m always interested in knowing , as I’m pretty sure I dont want to do the ESL thing for the rest of my life.

      • gkm2011 January 11, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

        I work for a consulting company and am an actuary. It was great that I could combine my major in the US here in China.

  3. ladyofthecakes January 10, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    Aw, the January blues suck! Lol. I can’t come up with any edifying pieces of advice, unfortunately, but I do sympathise with these kinds of frustrations, for what it’s worth.
    You could pee on the floor… or up a wall (though that might take some practice).

    • gkm2011 January 10, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

      Yes, I’m sure there are alternate venues if I truly go off the beaten path! That said, I agree, the January blahs may have attacked.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Foiled by the great firewall « 中国 Jumble - January 22, 2013

    […] seems to me between the weather, my office construction (more updates to come on that in the future – there has been progress!), and my recent […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

