Musk cat coffee anyone?

24 Jan

As I said in my last post, there has been change – progress in my office building.  Restaurants are starting to open up and we now have a coffee shop in our lobby.

And what exactly is a musk cat?

And what exactly is a musk cat?

When I saw the name of our brand new coffee shop, I was curious.  In English – musk and cat put together don’t really remind me of coffee at all, but it seems that our office administration team has gone all out and sought this Indonesian specialty for our lobby.

In Indonesian the coffee is called “Kopi Luwak” and at 200 RMB (about $30 USD) a cup it’s not likely going to be on my breakfast order any time soon.  This is another one of those strange coffee bean delicacies where the coffee actually passes through the intestinal track of a special cat that lives in trees only in Indonesia.  In more basic terms this is cat poo coffee.

As I did research for this post I found many websites talking about the delicate fragrance, the honey taste of the coffee, the foam that forms after it is beaten.  I’m not convinced.

However, the afternoon that it opened and my colleague who I went to lunch with offered to treat, I didn’t know any of this.  But luckily – I ordered a tea!

Bringing it back to the office, several colleagues asked me if I knew what type of coffee I was drinking.  I replied, I was having tea – they all started to laugh.  It turns out that this type of musk cat coffee is the hot thing in China right now.  Our lobby is on the cutting edge of a craze sweeping Shanghai.

According to the rest of the published diagram with future food vendors that will be setting up shop over the next couple of months, a Costa Coffee should be opening soon.  I think I may switch my patronage to that establishment, even though I typically drink very little coffee.  Better safe than sorry.

Have you ever consumed any item that has passed through the intestinal track of another animal?  I’ve eaten lots of interesting things, but this one does not strike me as worth trying.  Please share if you have, I am very curious.

22 Responses to “Musk cat coffee anyone?”

  1. Kristin January 24, 2013 at 8:27 am #

    Whoa, that does sound gross, and I would definitely not try it either. Glad you went for tea!

    • gkm2011 January 24, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

      Me too, if that is trendy, I think I’ll pass.

  2. Naomi Baltuck January 24, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    Very interesting, but not my cup of tea!

    • gkm2011 January 24, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

      I am glad I found out what it is. I wonder what the proper name in a western country would be?

  3. ladyofthecakes January 24, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    ROFL! Well worth waiting for! I LOVE amusing shop signs. I had actually heard of this coffee stuff (as it’s related to my job).
    Hope Singapore is managing to propel you out of the January blues.
    BTW, it should be intestinal “tract” 😉

  4. sarahinguangzhou January 24, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    Yes they keep telling us the stuff is really popular but I’ve never seen anyone drink it. At the end of the day, few people have 12 quid to spend on a cup of coffee I think.
    The other thing they tell us is going to be the next big trend in Europe is bubble tea, but I rarely meet anyone here who has heard of it.

    • gkm2011 January 24, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

      I can imagine that it will turn into a dare between coworkers more than an everyday thing. I hope bubble tea gets popular in the west. I really like it!

  5. Valerie January 24, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

    Thanks for the laugh!

    • gkm2011 January 24, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

      Glad to oblige! It does make me smile.

  6. David January 25, 2013 at 5:49 am #

    At least the water should have been boiled!

    • gkm2011 January 25, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

      That is true, but even if it is safe to drink does not mean it is desirable to drink!

  7. Madhu January 26, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    Eeew! 🙂

    • gkm2011 January 27, 2013 at 9:20 am #

      Good summar of my reaction as well!

  8. Pat F (@pkfung) January 28, 2013 at 9:27 am #

    As bad as this coffee might sound, it still can’t top Casu Marzu http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Casu_marzu.

    • gkm2011 January 28, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

      I would say you are right after reading that entry! Wow, live bugs is not something I would be interested in either.

  9. roomaomao January 29, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    Man, when I was in Sagada in the Philippines, I saw a tiny place that had it for $5 and planned on trying it. I got out of bed late on my last day and missed it. I really do want to try it, but the 200 rmb price tag in Shanghai is a bit high. There is a place near SML Dapuqiao that has it, the cafe’s name in Chinese is literally cat shit coffee. HAHA

    • gkm2011 January 29, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

      Geez, I need to get out more! Not sure I could willingly drink it though.

      • roomaomao February 1, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

        It passes through the digestive system and then is thoroughly washed off. Haha , people want beans that have been through the digestive system but not actual poop! Haha.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The seventh quarter review | 中国 Jumble - April 21, 2013

    […] Musk cat coffee – this post got lots of interesting reactions to the fact that this restaurant was in my office.  Musk cat coffee is coffee that has gone through the digestive track of an animal that is based in Indonesia.  A couple of months after the store has opened, it seems to be doing a brisk business, but I don’t know of anyone who has tried their specialty. […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

