Cambodia – Towers, tuk tuks and ta das!

24 Feb

As I have referenced a couple of times, we had been planning a trip to correspond with the end of the Chinese new year holidays.  Our destination?  Cambodia – more specifically the city of Siem Reap that is best known for being the home of Angkor Wat, one of the great wonders of the world.

As we (mostly Li) took over 2000 photos and we just got back middle of last week, I have not yet had the time to go through, categorize and tell the story that they deserve.  Instead I am going to leave you with a teaser – three photos that I feel start to represent the adventure we had during our trip there.

I chose the photos to connect with the headline that I posted – towers, tuk tuks and ta das and they were all from our first day as we started to comprehend the history and complexity of the beauty that could be found in Angkor Wat.

Our first day, posing on the roof of Angkor Wat with one of its characteristic towers in the background

Our first day, posing on the roof of Angkor Wat with one of its characteristic towers in the background

The tuk tuk driver from the first day as we exited the complex by one of the gates

The tuk tuk driver from the first day as we exited the complex by one of the gates

Li in front of the library at Angkor Wat - every place we turned there were ta dah moments!

Li in front of the library at Angkor Wat – every place we turned there were ta da moments!

We have many more photos and stories to tell, so please check back for those over the next few weeks!

How do you go through your photos after a long trip?  I can sometimes find it overwhelming, but always find it a lot of fun.  Any tips as I start to go through them?

10 Responses to “Cambodia – Towers, tuk tuks and ta das!”

  1. ladyofthecakes February 24, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    PERFECT blog fodder 😉

    • gkm2011 February 24, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

      Yes – a wonderful trip and lots to tell!

  2. Expat Alien February 25, 2013 at 1:46 am #

    One place I’ve always wanted to go…. tell us more!

  3. thirdeyemom February 25, 2013 at 6:41 am #

    I would love to go to Cambodia!!!!! Asia is so hard because it is so far. Someday I’d get there! Yes going through tons of pics takes time. I love to take a ton too.

    • gkm2011 February 25, 2013 at 7:42 am #

      It was a beautiful and thought provoking place that you could easily tie to your advocacy. Consider it for your next trip, though I’d wait til the rainy season is over in fall!

      • thirdeyemom February 27, 2013 at 4:57 am #

        Ahhh I want to go so bad yet it is a tough one with the kids as it would take me long to get there and I usually try to only be gone a week. But they are getting older now! 🙂

  4. Naomi Baltuck March 23, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    What an adventure! I hope to go there one day. My son teaches English in Argentina, but is looking at Asia with a longing eye. If he goes, we will sure visit, so I am enjoying your posts, and taking notes! Safe journey.

    • gkm2011 March 24, 2013 at 9:00 am #

      Asia is a great place to teach English so hope he makes the leap but wherever the journey leads I am sure you’ll have fun!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wonder of the World: Angkor Wat | One Eyebrow Raised - March 15, 2013

    […] Cambodia – Towers, tuk tuks and ta das! (zhongguojumble.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

