My neighborhood via phone

12 Mar

Last weekend we had unseasonably warm weather on Saturday. The temperatures pushed into the 80s (above 30 degrees C) and as I walked back from yoga I started snapping photos of the walk. People were in the streets, enjoying the warmth, but still not quite believing it would be this warm in March. Laundry was everywhere drying in the sun – winter coats, thick quilts and all manner of clothing which we joking say is the “national flag of China” because it is more prevalent than the Chinese flag.

The fountain in Xintiandi park by my yoga studio

The fountain in Xintiandi park by my yoga studio

Spring coming - the green leaves are sprouting (hope that our cold snap immediately after this doesn't cause too much damage)

Spring coming – the green leaves are sprouting (hope that our cold snap immediately after this doesn’t cause too much damage)

Hanging laundry with high rises in the background

Hanging laundry with high rises in the background

This storefront really caught my attention - the bright colors caught my eye first and then the contents started spilling out.  There are balls and basins, hula hoops and chamber pots.  Truly a store with a little of everything!

This storefront really caught my attention – the bright colors caught my eye first and then the contents started spilling out. There are balls and basins, hula hoops and chamber pots. Truly a store with a little of everything!

A typical street - with apartments viewed right in the background

A typical street – with apartments viewed right in the background

The temple nearby - all of the little windows open on the second floor made me smile.

The temple nearby – all of the little windows open on the second floor made me smile.

The constant construction doesn't stop for the sunshine either.

The constant construction doesn’t stop for the sunshine either.

A final look of the beautiful Saturday out of my kitchen window.

A final look of the beautiful Saturday out of my kitchen window.

My neighborhood is a neighborhood of contrasts – high rise apartment buildings facing two story blocks without indoor plumbing and constant construction passed by expensive cars.  In my daily walk to work I see it all – as long as I stop to look.  Since I was looking for potential photos on this walk I especially noticed the wall of the temple where all of the second story windows were propped open to catch the breeze and warmth.  I don’t remember seeing that before.

Because of the construction and contrast my neighborhood is constantly changing.  If I am away for a week, I notice new things – which is part of why I feel documenting my neighborhood is so important.

This happens to link with the weekly photo challenge this week, with a focus of neighborhood.  They also challenged me to use only my phone for the photos.  My phone (which was a present last August) has been a constant source of new photos and inspiration for me is a great way to catch photos and be more inconspicuous than pulling out a big camera.  If you’d like to see how others define neighborhood, feel free to click the link and view other great shots!

What is your neighborhood?  Which shot of my neighborhood do you enjoy the most?  I have to admit, the shot of the store with everything from hula hoops to chamber pots definitely made me smile.

9 Responses to “My neighborhood via phone”

  1. the abc in shanghai March 12, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    i think the bedding is hanging out whenever possible to catch uv-rays to kill off any bugs that have burrowed – they’re rarely wet, but just hanging out to get de-bugged i’m sure!

    • gkm2011 March 12, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

      That may be the case. Do you think UV rays can get through the smog?

  2. erica @ expatria, baby March 12, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane, friend! Those warm sunny days before the Shanghai summer gets too oppressive are a real treat. It’s kind of like you have to go through the doldrums of winter to really appreciate the sun. Which isn’t to say that I don’t appreciate Indonesia perpetual summer, but sunny days are even better when you have winter as a foil, you know???

    • gkm2011 March 12, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

      Totally agree, and this summer day was followed by a 25 degree temp drop leaving me wanting for more! Soon enough. 🙂

  3. ladyofthecakes March 13, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    This has inspired me… I might do a post like this over the weekend. Just last week, I noticed for the first time that the upper part of a building, which I’d been walking past nearly every day for a year and a half, was really beautiful!

    • gkm2011 March 13, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

      I found the idea inspiring as well! What we see every day can be beautiful and worth catching and remembering.

      • ladyofthecakes March 13, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

        Actually, I’m just off now to meet up with a friend AND to take some pics on the way! Let’s hope they won’t bore the pants off everybody but my family, lol.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood | Flickr Comments - March 12, 2013

    […] My neighborhood via phone | 中国 Jumble […]

  2. Toledo Tales: The Daily Rat Run | Lady Of The Cakes - March 17, 2013

    […] of photographs was inspired by a fellow blogger in Shanghai, who posted last week under the heading “My Neighbourhood Via Phone”. So, I thought to myself, why not take a few snaps of what I see every day when I step outside my […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

