A local specialty

26 Mar

One day in the office, a colleagues told me that there was a famous restaurant within walking distance of my apartment.  He started describing the location and all of a sudden I realized what place he was talking about.  On the weekends I saw the lines and people waiting outside on little plastic chairs.  It seemed like a popular place, but I had never paid much attention to it – as far as I could tell it was just a hole in the wall noodle restaurant.

I asked what the specialty of the restaurant was – if it was just a really good noodle place or not – and my coworker started to laugh.  He asked me how adventurous of an eater I was and then finally told me what their specialty is – noodles with large intestines!  Even the name of the restaurant is “Da Chang Mian” which literally translates to “Long Intestine Noodles.”  We laughed together and I promised that some day in the future I would check the restaurant out.

Coming home I told Li about the restaurant.  He then asked his coworkers who had also heard of this restaurant.  It appears that it was known throughout the city.

So – of course, we had to go!

It was a couple of weeks later that we finally went to the restaurant – the first time we tried was around lunchtime and there was a line twisting on the sidewalk.  We were pretty hungry so we didn’t go that time and instead went to another restaurant.  The second time we went in the early afternoon.  There were two empty seats at the table by the door and we ordered the house specialty – Long intestine noodles!

The noodles (with intestines topping)

The noodles (with intestines topping)

A big grin - before I tried them!

A big grin – before I tried them!

What do you think?  Would you have eaten it?

Even though I was initially hesitant, the noodles were cooked perfectly and the intestines were tender and flavorful.  I ate the entire bowl!  Intestines – chitlins to those from the southern part of the US – are delicious.  Who would have known?

Have you received a good restaurant recommendation lately?  What strange food have you seen or eaten?

14 Responses to “A local specialty”

  1. ladyofthecakes March 26, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    Yes, definitely! I mean, we’ve all eaten sausages encased in intestines, right? I don’t like the texture of tripe, nor of brains, but apart from that, I’m pretty good with innards 🙂

    • gkm2011 March 26, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

      I agree, but seeing them by themselves (no casing) does take a little getting used to!

      • ladyofthecakes March 26, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

        I do take your point there, lol 😉

  2. Valerie March 26, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    YUCK! Sorry – I don’t think I could have eatten that!

  3. Naomi Baltuck March 26, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    You were brave! I am mostly a vegetarian–married one and raised two–and this would be one occasion when I would definitely cry “vegetarian”!

    • gkm2011 March 26, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      Yes, but if i did that, I wouldn’t know how good they were. 🙂

  4. throughenglisheyesmark March 26, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

    I eat it too, my wife loves it 🙂 Thats why were here in Shanghai right?

    Cheers

    Mark

    • gkm2011 March 26, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      As I said, a Shanghai specialty!

  5. expatlingo March 26, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    Ooooo I haven’t tried that yet. Think to get through the first few bites, I’d have to mentally re-name them “meat noodles” or some such thing. Then I could eat happily!

    • gkm2011 March 26, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

      Something for your list – definitely worth trying!

  6. sarahinguangzhou March 27, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    When I was a kid I was always fascinated by the pig’s intestines in the butcher shops and would beg my mum to buy them. She never did. You don’t see them here now. I have eaten them once; I had a boyfriend who cooked them for me. It seemed an odd choice of meal to woo a woman with; I didn’t enjoy them really and just ate them to be polite.
    These days I’ve lost the curiosity about food that I used to have, so no, I wouldn’t eat them.

    • gkm2011 March 27, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      That is definitely a strange choice of food to impress a date! I have heard if not prepared well they can be pretty bad. Luckily this was not the case.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Relearning Shanghai | 中国 Jumble - March 9, 2014

    […] My walk to yoga is now past buildings that have been flattened (but were whole before Chinese New Year).  There is a new foreign supermarket in Times Square (two years after the old one closed) – that has a baking section with muffin cups and unbleached flour.  After reading a website, my husband has clued me in that within a ten minute walk are three of Shanghai’s most famous street food stands – not counting the one we discovered last year – Da Chang Mian. […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

