Sun and moon beach (日月滩) in Taiwan – a must see for all Chinese tourists

9 Jun

Because the Taiwan trip itinerary was decided by my colleagues and the travel agency I had no say on what we actually saw.  It also meant that each of the stops that we made – the Palace Museum, Sun and Moon Beach, Hualien had specific significance or were famous in mainland China.

Sun moon beach - I was there

Sun moon beach – I was there

Sun and moon beach was one of those places.  It is the stuff of children’s bedtime stories and part of the special unit on the “province” of Taiwan included in every elementary school textbook.

First view through the trees

First view through the trees

Beautiful sunny day - blue sky and green water

Beautiful sunny day – blue sky and green water

The lake is famous for having clear water that changes color according to its mood and there are special tea and herb soaked hardboiled eggs that are devoured by all tourists.  The entire area was beautiful, but not really something that I would go out of my way to see and my Taiwan friends say that Taiwanese folks don’t go there much at all themselves.

The special herb boiled eggs

The special herb boiled eggs

IMG_20130505_105312

We were serenaded by local singers who seemed to be having a great time.

To add to the atmosphere, tour bus loads of elderly Chinese tourists kept arriving and pushing all around the grounds.  They wanted to be the first to take a photo and the first to eat the egg.  Accents from across China from Beijing to Xiamen to Sichuan mingled on the small island in the middle of the lake.  My colleagues even got embarrassed at the behavior of the groups which says quite a lot.

The tourists waiting to take their photos - I didn't snap my picture here

The tourists waiting to take their photos – I didn’t snap my picture here

In spite of the other tourists, we were able to take a boat ride across the lake on a beautiful day and find several spots worthy of a photo.  I didn’t eat one of the eggs, but I can now say that I’ve been to the place in Taiwan that is a “must see” for all Chinese tourists.

View from the top of the island in the middle

View from the top of the island in the middle

Where would you recommend visiting in Taiwan?  Have you heard the stories about Sun & Moon beach?  My guess is the Chinese textbooks are full of propaganda, but it does make for a built in tourist trade in Taiwan.

2 Responses to “Sun and moon beach (日月滩) in Taiwan – a must see for all Chinese tourists”

  1. stupiduglyforeigner June 19, 2013 at 1:11 am #

    Did you end up snagging one of the herb eggs?

    I would recommend Taiwan, but I only spent a pitiful amount of time there and really want to go back.

    • gkm2011 June 19, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      I didn’t get one, but my colleagues tried the eggs and said they tasted pretty normal. I will be heading back in July so I’ll have more time to explore.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

