June 4th

11 Jun

I happened to be flying to Beijing on June 4th which I didn’t think much of at the time.

June 4th is the anniversary of Tiananmen Square.

When the plane landed at noon the sky was an ominous, muddy gray.  Buildings were blurred and it looked like the sky would open up any minute.  Getting into a taxi it was literally black as night, I couldn’t see my colleague’s face.  The rain poured down.

We looked at each other, nervous in the dim light.

It was surreal.

When we finally got to the office, the sky had lightened and it seemed like day again.

I asked Beijing colleagues if they had seen the sky.  They said, “You know what day today is, right?”

We looked at each other, the unspoken question hanging over our heads.  “They couldn’t really control the weather, could they?”

No more was said.  It didn’t have to be.

If given a choice, I would avoid Beijing on June 4th.

7 Responses to “June 4th”

  1. thirdeyemom June 11, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    Hope you are doing well! I’ve been so behind in my blog reading these days but am trying to catch up. I can’t imagine being there at that anniversary. Do you think much has changed? I’d be curious to know. I found the whole explanation by the Chinese tourist guides to be so untruthful. The same held true with Tibet.

    • gkm2011 June 15, 2013 at 6:25 am #

      Some things have changed, but there is still a lot of corruption out there. Many of my acquaintances who have been overseas think things will continue status quo until the economy falters. We’ll see what happens.

  2. stupiduglyforeigner June 19, 2013 at 1:09 am #

    Whatever else, I liked this as a small piece of writing. You really capture a sense of dread.

    • gkm2011 June 19, 2013 at 8:42 am #

      Thanks, it was a strange trip, not something I have experienced before.

  3. expatlingo July 2, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    Hi, I hope you are well. Have been missing your posts. – Jen

    • gkm2011 July 7, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

      Thanks! It has been a crazy last month which I will post about in due course. Should have kept you up to date!

      • expatlingo July 7, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

        You deserve the time away!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

