Two years later – the 8th quarter review

21 Jul

Two years ago I started Zhongguo Jumble.  My goal was simple – notice what was going on around me – the wonderful and weird, the sad and thoughtful – the jumble of experiences that happen to me.

I am proud to say that two years later I am still capturing those moments both in China and during my travels.

Over the last two years I have published nearly 300 posts and covered topics from food to language to random shopping experiences.  For my most recent quarter I took some time off in the middle due to my punishing travel schedule, but still wanted to share some favorites.

I have noticed that my food posts tend to get a lot of comments and this quarter was no different.  I have started to share occasional home cooking adventures that I have and Expanding my Chinese cooking repertoire – the story of going to cooking school with my colleagues was one of my favorites.  Since I just returned to Shanghai I haven’t had the opportunity to cook much lately but am looking forward to cooking more soon.

Here's a dish I think I could do - bitter melon with bacon.  I've already tried bitter melon with fried egg so I'm on my way!

Here’s a dish I think I could do – bitter melon with bacon. I’ve already tried bitter melon with fried egg so I’m on my way!

Another post that I wanted to call out was team building trip to Wuzhen, one of the water villages around Shanghai.  Finding peace outside the city is always important and Wuzhen was a pleasant surprise during a very busy time.

Peaceful water with reflection of the trees

Peaceful water with reflection of the trees

Finally – I posted the rest of my Cambodia photos and stories.  It was a great trip and one that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a unique vacation spot.

Angkor Wat - an aerial view

Angkor Wat – an aerial view

In addition to some favorites from the last quarter, I also wanted to give an update on two of my resolutions for this year.

One I can check off the list – I’ve completed it with plenty of time to spare.  That resolution is traveling to two new countries this year.  Between our trip to Cambodia (just mentioned) and my trip to Japan – I am covered.  In addition, depending on who you speak to, my visits to Taiwan also may or may not count as a third country.  We are debating if we will try to get to another country this year – if we do, I’m sure you’ll hear about it!

My search for Mt. Fuji in Japan - I finally found it - on the panel in the apartment we stayed in!

My search for Mt. Fuji in Japan – I finally found it – on the panel in the apartment we stayed in!

Another that I am still experimenting with is the different hair styles.  Here is one that I had for a special occasion recently.

A lovely up-do only possible with longer hair

A lovely up-do only possible with longer hair

How are you doing with any resolutions you’ve made?

Thank you to my loyal followers.  I know that there are some of you out there who have been following along since the very beginning.  Which type of posts do you like the best?  Any ideas for new things that you’d like to hear from me?  Please share so that I can make the third year even better.  Your comments and emails are what keep me going.  Please continue!

12 Responses to “Two years later – the 8th quarter review”

  1. Naomi Baltuck July 21, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    I like it all–daily life and travel. Keep up the good work!

    • gkm2011 July 21, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      Thanks for the shout out! I will definitely do my best.

  2. ladyofthecakes July 21, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    A mix is good, I like variety 🙂
    Got any language posts in the pipeline…?

    • gkm2011 July 21, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

      Perhaps I should tell my story of being in Taiwan and explaining my “mainland accent”! Thanks for the idea.

      • ladyofthecakes July 21, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

        YES! I love stuff like that!!! …but I may well be the only one, lol.

  3. Valerie July 21, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    Congrats! Keep the posts coming – it’s enjoyable to see what you’re up to!

    • gkm2011 July 21, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

      You have been my dedicated reader from the beginning, beginning. Thanks for sticking around! Miss you!

  4. thirdeyemom July 22, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

    Congrats! I really enjoy your blog!

    • gkm2011 July 23, 2013 at 7:32 am #

      Thanks! Two years really felt like a milestone.

      • thirdeyemom July 25, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

        I’m at two and a half now! 🙂

      • gkm2011 July 26, 2013 at 7:19 am #

        Congrats! I think anything over a year is a real accomplishment.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The 9th quarter review | 中国 Jumble - October 17, 2013

    […] by – it seems like just last week I wrote my last post celebrating Zhongguo Jumble’s two year anniversary.  Even though there was only one major trip in the last quarter (our trip to Greece) – I […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

