Update on Shanghai Summer

2 Aug

I posted earlier this week about the summer in Shanghai and the heat wave that continues.  Many of you shared stories about living through the heat.

Thank you for your comments and stories and mental wishes to help me keep cool.

Unfortunately – it was not enough.

Wednesday evening the air conditioner in our bedroom broke.  I woke up a couple of hours after falling asleep to temperatures inside my apartment soaring.  The heat was stifling.  We stumbled into the guest bedroom, turned on the air and fell into a restless sleep.

We contacted the landlord early Thursday morning, but because of the heat wave, the earliest that we may be able to get it fixed is end of day Friday, or maybe Saturday.

I am lucky that each room in the apartment has its own air conditioner, so it is far from the worst case scenario, but it has contributed to even more of a “heat daze.”  I have lived through heat before, but this is ridiculous.  My work papers are all up for renewal meaning I don’t have my passport at the moment or I would seriously consider fleeing the country!

The weather report continues uninterrupted – hot days and hot nights.  When the heat does finally break I feel that everyone here deserves a medal – survival of the fittest!

Signing off – and trying to keep cool from steamy Shanghai.

14 Responses to “Update on Shanghai Summer”

  1. expatlingo August 2, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    Best of luck keeping cool! Sounds like time to find (or make) a chocolate milk shakes. I have the opposite problem at the moment: wearing a fleece jacket here in Seattle on Aug 1st. Mildly depressing.

    • gkm2011 August 2, 2013 at 8:26 am #

      Yes, we do have high standards for our summers. I are quite a lot of ice cream right when I got back from Taiwan, but now in the continued heat they just feel too heavy. Maybe Popsicles? Stay warm and on’t worry, HK’s heat is waiting for you.

  2. pollyheath August 2, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    Sit in a cold bath and sip on something chilly! Wishing you cool, cool thoughts!

    • gkm2011 August 2, 2013 at 6:13 pm #

      Thanks, I have iced apple juice and finally broke down and took a cab to work this morning even though the walk is only 20 minutes!

  3. Valerie August 2, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    Good luck! We’ve had such a mild summer so far – enjoying it while we get this weather!

    • gkm2011 August 2, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

      I would gladly pass some of my heat your way. I wonder if that is a potential future business model?

  4. Sherri August 2, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

    Oh no, I do feel for you! Hope that you get your air con fixed as soon as possible! Do you have ceiling fans? I got so used to having them in California that I insisted on having one put in our bedroom when I moved back to the UK and it has been lifesaver during our ‘Great British Heatwave’! Although I know that it is nothing like the heat you are experiencing right now…hope it breaks soon, sending cool vibes 🙂

    • gkm2011 August 2, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      Unfortunately no ceiling fan, but I am pleased to report the repairman just came and was able to fix it! We had somehow used all the coolant up and burned out the motor. The heat wave continues with no end in sight, but I think I will sleep well tonight!

      • Sherri August 2, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

        What a relief (not for the heat wave but for the cooling) 🙂

      • gkm2011 August 2, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

        Yes, literally a relief.

  5. Every Day Adventures in Asia August 4, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Good luck surviving the heat wave!!

    • gkm2011 August 4, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

      Thanks – we lugged home two huge watermelons yesterday and half of one is currently occupying about 1/4 of our refrigerator. Frosty watermelon is a great foil to the heat outside!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Into the wilds of Michigan | 中国 Jumble - August 6, 2013

    […] the heat continues to beat down on me in Shanghai, my thoughts have flown to the other more pleasant places I […]

  2. Replacing things in the new year – part 2 (the scary story) | 中国 Jumble - February 6, 2014

    […] to have the repairman come to check it out.  As loyal readers know – this past summer the air conditioner in our bedroom broke and it required the addition of more coolant so that was my self-diagnosis of what needed to happen […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

