American architecture – The National Cathedral and Capitol Building

13 Aug

The travel theme that I posted on last time from Where’s my Backpack – Architecture, would not get out of my head.  I kept thinking of all of the other places I’ve been recently and how the architecture changes depending on where I was and the purpose for the building.  So, for the first time I am going to post a second entry into Ailsa’s weekly competition.

A second posting was needed because I finally went through some of the photos from our recent trip to the US.  We spent three days in Washington, D.C. and were blessed with blue skies and wonderful summer weather during which we explored the city.  I cannot take credit for the photos as they are from my husband’s camera – but I can certainly enjoy and share them with you here.

Our first full day we saw both of these remarkable buildings – the National Cathedral and the U.S. Capitol Building.  The architecture of both is classic and instantly recognizable to those who have been there before.

Despite living in China, for the entire trip I kept being reminded of how lucky I am to be an American citizen with the freedoms that exist.  Each small thing – the peace roses by the Cathedral, enough breeze to send the flag into the air, congressmen posing with students on the steps of the capitol building – added to my pride.

Enjoy the photos.

The front of the National Cathedral in Washington, D.C.

The front of the National Cathedral in Washington, D.C.

View from the side of the National Cathedral with a blue, blue sky.

View from the side of the National Cathedral with a blue, blue sky.

Peace roses blooming in the gardens below the Cathedral

Peace roses blooming in the gardens below the Cathedral

The iconic US Capitol Building

The iconic US Capitol Building

Enough breeze to fly the flag - and stir my pride

Enough breeze to fly the flag – and stir my pride

If you want to see how others have defined “architecture” please click the link above.

What architecture makes you proud?

One Response to “American architecture – The National Cathedral and Capitol Building”

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

