Awards!

15 Aug

I have been the very lucky recipient of several recognitions over the last few months.  Unfortunately, until now I haven’t been able to reciprocate due to my crazy schedule.

My friend Carissa at Everyday Adventures in Asia (mostly) nominated me for the Liebster Award.  This is the second time I have received that award, so I will not reply to the requirements again, but I wanted to thank Carissa for the shout out and really amusing posts regarding her adventures.

liebster-award

Mona at monahoward.com nominated me for the Wonderful Team Member Award.

Wonderful team member award - bringing sunshine to others!

Wonderful team member award – bringing sunshine to others!

Many moons ago, Mona was actually responsible for my very first award – the Versatile Blogger.  Getting a double nomination from her and knowing that she has been one of my loyal readers for almost these two years is a great feeling.  The Wonderful Team Member Award I hadn’t heard of previously and I find it pretty interesting.  The rules are below:

1.The Nominee of the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award shall display the logo on his/her blog.
2.The Nominee shall nominate 14 readers they appreciate over a period of 7 days, all at once or little by little.
3.The Nominee shall name his/her Wonderful Team Member Readership Award nominees on a post or on posts during 7 days.

Since I like to break the rules on awards, I will note some of the readers I most appreciate and a couple of new blogs, below.

The readers that have been with me the longest and continue to post comments and likes are those that I am happy to have “on my team.”  These include some special folks who don’t actually have blogs of their own –

– My good friend Valerie who commented at the beginning when I wasn’t sure anyone was reading along – and

– My parents (even though they don’t comment publicly, they often send me notes and call me regarding my blog content)

Then there are some other loyal blog followers whom I would like to thank – their blogs are also great!

Third Eye Mom who always has an interesting point of view

Expat Lingo – who posts on Hong Kong and the zaniness of life in Asia

Polly – who I have recently started following who teaches English in Russia – we bonded over shared stories of whether to wear slippers in the house!

Lady of the Cakes – who reminds me of my year in Spain

Sarah in Guangzhou – who is no longer in Guangzhou but continues to follow along and comment on my adventures.

No pressure to reciprocate or send the award out, but thank you for making me want to continue to blog!

I would also like to send a shout out to my readers in New Zealand.  Over the last few days I have had a huge uptake in readership.  When looking at the stats it appears that somehow, someone in New Zealand has found my blog and been reading it very closely.  I like to imagine it is the former tenants of my current apartment who were Kiwis.  However, since I never met them and have no idea who they are, I would guess it is some other New Zealander – but, thank you, whomever you are!

Finally, recently – Sherri at A View from my Summerhouse nominated me for The Inner Peace Award.  It is an award with no requirements – something pretty cool.  I like the idea that my blog can spread inner peace.  I post on lots of things – some peaceful, some not.  Take it for what you want!

inner-peace-award

And that’s this awards edition.  Please check out some of the wonderful individuals who have nominated me or who have followed me for the last two years.  Let’s hope I’m in it for another two!

14 Responses to “Awards!”

  1. Valerie August 15, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Congrats on all the awards! Keep the posts coming!

    • gkm2011 August 15, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

      Thanks for sticking with me from the very beginning! It is hard to believe I am over 300 posts now.

  2. pollyheath August 15, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    Thank you! Love reading all of your posts!

    • gkm2011 August 15, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

      A pleasure to read your as well. I am very glad lady of the cakes connected us!

  3. Sherri August 15, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Congratulations on all your recent awards 🙂

    • gkm2011 August 15, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      And thank you for the nomination!

      • Sherri August 15, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

        You are very welcome 🙂

  4. ladyofthecakes August 15, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    You deserve all your awards, madam 😉
    I’m (not so) secretly delighted over my blog matchmaking skills – it was me who put you and Polly in touch after both of you had a rant about the tyranny of correct slipper usage in your respective adoptive countries, lol.

    • gkm2011 August 15, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      That was a great connection! Have you successfully connected anyone else?

      • ladyofthecakes August 15, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

        LOL, it was! I love Polly’s blog 🙂
        I don’t really keep track of my blogmatchmaking, I just remembered the ‘slippers’ thing, because it greatly amused me at the time.

      • Every Day Adventures in Asia August 16, 2013 at 1:02 am #

        Our favourite “Lady of the Cakes” has indeed! I’ve been the happy recipient of her connecting skills! 🙂

        And many thanks Greta for the lovely ‘nod’! Its been good fun blogging and always enjoy yours.

      • gkm2011 August 16, 2013 at 8:04 am #

        Isn’t it amazing how quickly time passes and the posts add up? I do look at it as a creative outlet for sure.

  5. MaitoMike August 16, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    Congratulations on all of your well-deserved awards! Keep up the good work! =)

    • gkm2011 August 16, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

      Thanks! I checked out your blog as well, looks like you have been doing some great traveling lately!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

