Without a care in the world…

22 Aug

Our time home in Michigan earlier in June made me remember so many of the wonderful things that are summers “Up North.”  Even though our trip was too short (they always are), we found time to do many of the things that scream “summer” to me.

Summer is having the time to watch a sunset,

Sunset with airplane trails

Time to sit out on the dock and count the pebbles under the clear water.

Classic dock

Summer is playing mini golf (and eating fudge)

He did hit a hole in one on one hole

He did hit a hole in one on one hole

and going to the beach and only worrying that your hat will blow away.

Yellow hat at beach

It’s wandering over to watch the windsurfers do amazing tricks as the sun starts to sink down.

Windsurfers

Summer is finding time to lay in the hammock with your sweetie

Hammock with feet

and finding animals in the clouds floating in the big blue sky.

Puffy clouds & hammock

This post is in response to the Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree – to see how others posted about this topic, please click the link.

Thinking about this topic, China is not a place where I can be carefree.  I have many good times, enjoying life with friends and family – but it’s different.  Enjoy this version of carefree from me.

Where are you without a care in the world?

14 Responses to “Without a care in the world…”

  1. thirdeyemom August 22, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    Lovely post!!! 🙂

    • gkm2011 August 22, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      Thank you! Glad you’re back following along.

      • thirdeyemom August 26, 2013 at 8:45 am #

        Oh….I’m here…barely! It has been a really busy summer with the kids home and I’ve had such a hard time keeping up reading my favorite blogs. I feel awful about it! But guess what, tomorrow the kids start school!!! My life changes as they both will be in all day school. No more excuses! Looking forward to getting back into reading my favorites, like yours! 🙂 Nicole

  2. pollyheath August 22, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

    I agree that I can never feel quite comfortable abroad. I feel pretty at home at my family home in VA, but it’s nothing as nice as this!

    • gkm2011 August 22, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

      It is someplace I have gone for over thirty years now. Really special and carefree!

  3. sebbyholmes August 22, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

    Lovely post. I’m missing the summer already and It’s not over yet.

    • gkm2011 August 23, 2013 at 7:31 am #

      I am looking forward to the cooler weather, but am enjoying another month or so if heat first! If you saw my posts about the heat in Shanghai this year, you’ll see why!

  4. Sherri August 23, 2013 at 1:24 am #

    I feel carefree just from reading this post and looking at your lovely photographs! You really have captured the essence of summer and what a beautiful place! I used to love the lazy, hazy days of summer spent with my children when they were young, taking them to the beach for the day or to the pool and then stopping for Thrifty ice cream on the way home. Now I feel carefree when out walking in the English countryside with my husband on a lovely summer’s day. Then afterwards, going home for a lovely cup of tea 🙂

    • gkm2011 August 23, 2013 at 7:32 am #

      I think different times of year have different carefree moments as well. These summer moments though may be my favorite (at least until fall!)

      • Sherri August 23, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

        Yes, I agree (they all have a different ‘feel’ don’t they?) and yes, Autumn (got used to calling it ‘fall’ when I lived in the States but I have reverted as I always get questioned on it when I say it here!) is my absolute favourite time of the year 🙂

  5. Valerie August 23, 2013 at 4:43 am #

    Beautiful pics of Michigan!

    • gkm2011 August 23, 2013 at 7:33 am #

      Thanks, still need to get you up there some summer!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge – Carefree | Joe's Musings - August 23, 2013

    […] Without a care in the world… | 中国 Jumble […]

  2. The 9th quarter review | 中国 Jumble - October 17, 2013

    […] Without a care in the world – photos from our trip earlier this year to Michigan, the place where I can put up my hair and dance crazy circles on the lawn. […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

