Summer skies from 43 floors up

25 Aug

Despite the heat, there have been some beautiful blue skies over the last few weeks.  It seems like every time I glance out my office window I see views that make my heart expand.

I look north – north east typically, but there was one day recently that had me scurrying to our conference room with a view east towards the Bund.  The sky was so clear that it looked like I could jump out of the window and land on the TV tower.  Here are some of the photos from that amazing afternoon.

IMG_20130816_114726 IMG_20130816_114737 IMG_20130816_115031 IMG_20130816_115043

Then on another occasion I was about to go home from work when I glanced west out of another set of windows.  The shades were drawn because of the intense heat of the day, but I saw amazing colors of orange as the sun set over the elevated highway.  My phone was close by and I snapped two photos.

IMG_20130814_183349 IMG_20130814_183337

In both of these cases it required me looking up from my computer and looking around me.  I am so glad I did!

I use photos like this to remind me how beautiful Shanghai can be – and to carry myself through the gray skies to come.

How do you capture the beauty in your every day?  Do you take time to notice?  Which shot is your favorite?

11 Responses to “Summer skies from 43 floors up”

  1. Every Day Adventures in Asia August 25, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    These pics from office are fabulous! Thank you for sharing!

    I had a collection of ‘office views’ from every office I visited in Asia. For Shanghai it was the earlier office but still remembered the amazing perspective it had on Shanghai’s skyline.

    On of my favourites is also Shenzhen where you can see the dramatic difference between Hong Kong which is lush green and then China which is a maze of concrete skyscrapers.

    Alas most of my ‘office view’ photos were lost in the shuffle between multiple computers and my back-up hard drive conking out. 😦

    So am particularly delighted you had a chance to record the spectacular summer view and sunset. Enjoy! 🙂

    • gkm2011 August 25, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      Thanks – I never took any at other offices, but perhaps I should make an effort for that in the future as I travel. I like remembering how things are and how things were because the change that occurs here is just too fast!

  2. expatlingo August 25, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    Wow, those are really clear skies. Gorgeous!

    I think typhoon Trami blew lots of pollution south from Guangdong to Hong Kong as we had a couple of really terrible days air-pollution-wise. Win some, lose some.

    • gkm2011 August 25, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      I can understand. Today we had a ferocious thunderstorm come through which blew a lot of the pollution away – the typhoons tend to blow the pollution away as oppose to blew it in. As you said – win some, lose some.

  3. ladyofthecakes August 25, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

    Glorious 🙂

    • gkm2011 August 25, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      It was. I am so glad I captured the moment!

  4. Daniel Scott August 26, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

    Keep taking pictures! I know the first time my wife and I went to China, we didn’t take very many. This time we are taking a lot more. I’m even trying to take one every day of the little things that we see for friends, family, & others to join in on the experiences.

    • gkm2011 August 27, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

      Yes, I agree. Camera phones are wonderful things, meaning I am never far from a photo. The blog helps me remember and share those moments as well.

  5. Sherri August 27, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    Love the contrast of day and night and the spectacular sunset 🙂 Good job you had your phone handy! The times when I think ‘if only I had my camera’ and then remember that I have a camera on my phone (I only recently got a smart phone and still getting used to it!) 🙂

    • gkm2011 August 27, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

      I have only had my smart phone a year or so and it is really an invaluable tool!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Downpours and blue skies | 中国 Jumble - September 10, 2013

    […] picked up.  I grabbed my camera and shot a couple of photos.  The difference in the view from the clear summer day that I showed you before was […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

