Should Zhongguo Jumble be a book?

8 Sep

My mom has put a bug in my ear to turn Zhongguo Jumble into a book.  For my previous blog, The Shanghai Chronicle – I successfully converted the first year of it into a book and gave it to her for Mother’s Day 2012.  It was a limited edition – of one.  I also took a couple months off from work during that period.

So now, the idea is stuck in my head.

I have been a very regular poster on Zhongguo Jumble since I began in July of 2011 – at this point I’m well over 300 posts and lots and lots of different topics.  If each post had its own page that would be over 300 pages.  I’m overwhelmed.

I’ve started thinking about possible ways to attack it  and thus far have come up with the below:

  1. Publish in a serial format – a small book quarter by quarter
  2. Separate posts on China from my travel posts
  3. Do a Shanghai only book
  4. Try a photo book and highlight some of the beautiful pictures
  5. Do things on a calendar year basis
  6. Try to split by topic or category

I’m really not sure which makes the most sense.  So – I am going to you, my readers, to see if you have any ideas.  I need your help.

Please complete the poll below to see what makes the most sense to you.

For my email readers, please make sure you click through to the blog post to vote.  Your votes count too!

After I get your feedback I’ll let you know my decision.  If I do make it real I would assume I will use Blurb again.  Blurb has the ability to “slurp” the blog posts into a basic framework and I was very satisfied with the quality of the printing last time.  However, if anyone has used another set of software I would be interested in knowing about it as well.

Have you ever thought about making your blog a book?  What considerations should I take?  If I did publish one – would any of you be interested in a copy?

Let me know!

13 Responses to “Should Zhongguo Jumble be a book?”

  1. Naomi Baltuck September 8, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    I don’t know enough about different formats to vote, but there are several books out about turning blogs into books. I think it’s a great idea, and hope that you find a way to do so!

    • gkm2011 September 8, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

      Thanks Naomi – I will see where things add up and so some research of my own. The first one worked well but I learned some things and it took a lot of time, so we’ll see!

  2. Every Day Adventures in Asia September 9, 2013 at 12:08 am #

    Naturally I’m a fan and love your blog… there is more than enough material for book! So add my ‘prod’ to your mom’s! 🙂

    • gkm2011 September 9, 2013 at 7:44 am #

      Thanks – not enough material is not my worry. More like too much!

  3. Expat Alien September 9, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

    Make it all travel posts, including Shanghai – an expat in China. Think about who your audience is. What is it like living there, why are you there. The posts can be your skeleton but then you can flush it out.

    • gkm2011 September 9, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

      Thanks for the advice. I do note that I have different themes that run throughout so perhaps those themes may be fun. The audience is also key – if I am only writing for my mother the focus may be different than for a broader audience. 🙂

  4. Sherri September 9, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    This is really interesting. I don’t know anything about turning a blog into a book so I can’t offer any help but I’m very interested to see how you go about it. I’ve not heard of ‘Blurb’ but I will have to take a look. I think your blog would make a great book so I will vote!

    • gkm2011 September 9, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

      Thanks! Blurb was a decent choice before, but I will need to do research too as to if there are any other options. This wouldn’t be a book with chapters – so may require some time – and organization like Expat Alien said!

  5. For the Intolerants (@rovingaltruist) September 10, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

    What a fantastic idea! Do you plan on print copies only or having an e-version available? Regardless, the best of luck with it! (You should make sure to have copies available via your site for those of us who might want to purchase as well!)

    • gkm2011 September 11, 2013 at 7:22 am #

      Thanks for the words of encouragement! Last time I only made one print copy, but this time I haven’t decided what format or if I will do an e-version. Still mulling it over, but will keep you posted.

  6. sarahinguangzhou September 12, 2013 at 7:23 am #

    Yes I think it’s a great idea. The problem is to pick a focus rather than have too much random stuff I think (I’m currently trying to isolate all my China stuff to do something similar so that’s why I say that). Think about who would read your book and what they’d want to read. And expect it all to take 5 times longer than you allowed for.

    • gkm2011 September 12, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

      I am sure it will take longer than I expect for sure. I am finding it difficult to focus – with so many posts I am drowning in material. I’ll figure something out – have a couple of ideas so will keep you posted!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The 9th quarter review | 中国 Jumble - October 17, 2013

    […] look forward to the next one.  Did I miss your favorite post?  I’m still debating about the book possibility, so maybe more to come on that […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

