Planning the next trip

12 Sep

We are planning our next trip for the end of September over the October holidays period.  We finally have booked all of the flights, ferries and hotels and now just need to get on the plane and go.

This trip planning process highlighted several elements I thought were worth calling attention to.

  • Traveling with different passports can be frustrating – especially when one is a Chinese passport

My husband had to explain to the visa authority why a Chinese person is applying for a single visa to romantic honeymoon destination.  He was able to do it – after changing his hukou, providing bank statement details and copies of our marriage certificates, plus a letter from his employer.

I am very glad I have a US passport.

  • Transferring in Moscow may be interesting.

We found conflicting information online as to whether both of us needed transit visas for Moscow.  In our quest to get the cheapest flight, we have a strange transfer there.  After all the research we finally reached out to Aerflot.  They replied that we do not.  If we do I will have a really good story and promise to share it here.

  • Travel apps are really amazing.

We have spent way too much time hotel comparison shopping and planning our route.  The apps and websites really are amazing.  It sucks up time that could be used for other activities.  I have had enough – I am ready to take off and explore, but my husband is still checking and changing plans.

I will leave our upcoming destination unnamed for the moment to build suspense.  Prior to heading out there is still a lot to be finalized, projects to complete, mid-autumn festival to celebrate, friends to welcome and fall to enjoy!

Stay tuned for more…

What have you learned when planning a trip?  Anything that has come in handy later?

14 Responses to “Planning the next trip”

  1. Every Day Adventures in Asia September 12, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    The most hilarious border crossing I’ve had in terms of variety of status was by road from Canada to the US over 10 years ago…

    I had my Canadian passport so “No problem.” My ex had his Indian passport with Canadian permanent residency so “Hmm….” His cousin had an American Green Card so “Ok but….” And a friend of our had an Indian passport with a conference visa for Canada and visitors visa for the US “Um…”

    Needless to say we got through after 4 hours at customs and immigration!

    All the best for your upcoming trip!!! 🙂

    • gkm2011 September 12, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      I assume that was prior to 9/11? I imagine after – wouldn’t work so well. 🙂 Can’t wait to head out of town on our adventure.

  2. expatlingo September 12, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    Hmmm now I’m really scratching my head over where you are going. Finland? 😉 Have a wonderful time!

    • gkm2011 September 12, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

      I will share in good time! Good guess, but not correct.

  3. ottominuti September 12, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

    Brasil? I am curious to know!
    I can’t give you any advice on planning because I am incapable of any practical task. I leave it to my husband, he’s the best travel agent, party planner and administration guru:-)

    • gkm2011 September 13, 2013 at 7:49 am #

      Also not a correct guess. That would be a very interesting transfer though I think. My husband does most of it, but I contribute my own point of view. 🙂

  4. Sherri September 12, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Oh I could tell you some adventures, but I would be here all
    day! You can just imagine, since all three of my kids hold American and British Passports (I tell them that this is like gold dust and to never, ever take their dual citizenship for granted) and with all the traveling we have done back and forth over the years. We’ve been turned away from flights, held back at immigration, tears at check in, you name it. Think we finally have it down pat…so I understand all the hoops you have to jump through!
    The other thing I want to say, or ask, is: “Can I come, please?” 🙂
    (I don’t care where it is you are going, you make it sound so exciting with all your travel plans that anywhere will be just great!)

    • gkm2011 September 13, 2013 at 7:50 am #

      I think traveling as a group on different passports just adds confusion in general. Glad to know you have it down pat by this point. How many years did it take?
      Unfortunately – no additional folks on this trip. We’re calling it our honeymoon, so you may feel a bit like a third wheel. Next time perhaps?

  5. pollyheath September 13, 2013 at 1:39 am #

    Are you changing airports in Moscow? If so, you do need a transit visa. If not, no problemo. I’m also super curious about where you’re going!!

    • gkm2011 September 13, 2013 at 7:52 am #

      No, we are not changing airports – our transfer time is only about two hours. That explains the conflicting information though.
      More to come on the destination!

  6. simpletravelourway September 13, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

    Travel planning can go on for an indefinite amount of time. Sometimes arrangements fall in place but sometimes….nothing seems to be fitting together in the grand scheme. We’re anxiously waiting for the planning to end and to see just where you land! Love surprises!

    • gkm2011 September 13, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

      I hope it is as wonderful as I am anticipating! The planning will end soon – just a little longer now.

  7. Lakshmi Loves To Shop September 14, 2013 at 4:32 am #

    Namaste…when planning my trips I have a plastic folder envelope that I put all my details in and then can access it at any time before and during my holiday ~ Lakshmi

    • gkm2011 September 14, 2013 at 11:56 am #

      That’s a good tip! I have done that for business trips but never thought to carry it over to personal travel!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

