Happy Mid-Autumn Festival!

19 Sep

Today is the full moon, so the official mid-Autumn festival day.  Shortly we will be heading out to Li’s hometown (wedding still TBD).

The weather in Shanghai lately has been absolutely gorgeous – blue skies and cooler nights with some killer sunsets from my office window.  I haven’t been able to stop from snapping photos as I see a blue sky or a building highlighted against it.  Here are several that I have taken in the last week.

The first shots are from an afternoon excursion to Yu Yuan Garden with a friend of my sister.  He happened to be in town for less than 24 hours and said he had already seen the Bund, so I swept him along through Yu Yuan Garden and Xintiandi and we had a grand time.  The blue skies that day made me stand up and notice.

The classic dragon at Yu Yuan Garden

The classic dragon at Yu Yuan Garden

Traditional architecture in the garden highlighted by the sunny sky

Traditional architecture in the garden highlighted by the sunny sky

The second cluster are shots taken while either at work or on my way to a meeting.  I especially paid attention to the Pearl Tower (the TV tower, the round ball thing) which is a symbol of Shanghai because I saw in the paper that after October holidays they are going to renovate it.  I wonder how long it will be under construction and whether this symbol of the city will be dark for a while.

The others – my view will change soon at work and I continue to be amazed at the beauty I see each day.

A snap out of a cab window - the pearl tower with a couple puffy clouds behind

A snap out of a cab window – the pearl tower with a couple puffy clouds behind

Clouds gathering to the north of my office - skies of promise

Clouds gathering to the north of my office – skies of promise

A stunning sunset over Yan An elevated road

A stunning sunset over Yan An elevated road

The final shots are of moon cakes – couldn’t avoid them!  This is a beautiful package that Li’s company gave him with 12 moon cakes in it.  Since I received some as well, this box is currently in transit with us to his hometown.  I like moon cakes, but after two or three, that’s enough.  This package is even more special because from the pictures it looks like the moon cakes are made with precious materials like abalone.  Even more of a reason to share with his family.

Moon cakes in a gold box from the Shanghai Postal service

Moon cakes in a gold box from the Shanghai Postal service

Moon cakes with precious fillings ready to be shared

Moon cakes with precious fillings ready to be shared

I wish all of you a happy, healthy mid-Autumn festival.  May you be surrounded by family and friends during this beautiful time of year to celebrate how you see fit!

On a technical note I may not be able to keep up a regular posting schedule over the next couple of weeks with the different trips we have planned.  Will do my best, but if I miss a post here and there, consider yourselves warned!

12 Responses to “Happy Mid-Autumn Festival!”

  1. simpletravelourway September 19, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    We’re in Shanghai for the next week and would love to try a moon cake. Where do you buy them?

    • gkm2011 September 21, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      They are all over – probably on sale now that the festival has just finished. You can ask at your hotel or try any large restaurant – they often have displays at the entrance. Enjoy Shanghai! Sorry didn’t see this earlier – showed up in my spam folder.

  2. omreddy September 19, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    Reblogged this on omreddy.

  3. expatlingo September 19, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    Enjoy your trip! Can’t wait to hear about the possible wedding. I predict Li’s family guilts you into going. Perhaps you can simply make a quick face-saving appearance.

    • gkm2011 September 21, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

      We just got home and … didn’t have to go! However that was only because it turned out to be an evening wedding and we had already arranged a car to take us to another place. Seems it was more of a technicality, but I was relieved to tell you the truth.

  4. Valerie September 20, 2013 at 2:50 am #

    Have a good trip!

    • gkm2011 September 21, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

      Will do – and did! Just managed to get home. More like a three day weekend than a full blown vacation.

  5. Sherri September 21, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    Just a quick note…when my son visited Hong Kong a few year’s ago I’m sure he brought me back a Moon Cake? I know it was some kind of cake like this and this jolted my memory! I need to ask him! It was in the most beautiful packaging. Have a wonderful time with family and friends and enjoy every moment 🙂

    • gkm2011 September 21, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

      Yes, if they were small – about the size of a fist or sometimes even smaller, those would have been mooncakes. I am firmly convinced that the packaging means more than the taste in many Chinese people’s heads.

      • Sherri September 21, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

        That does sound about right 🙂

  6. stupiduglyforeigner September 22, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    Whoa! The skies are even bluer in Shanghai lately than in Suzhou! You were right to get outside and enjoy every second of it.

    • gkm2011 September 22, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

      Yes, been absolutely gorgeous. Was in Hefei over the festival and shot some gorgeous shots there too. This is my favorite time of year!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

