October jumbles

24 Oct

October is my favorite season in Shanghai.  The weather is perfect – Indian summer-like and after the holiday at the beginning people tend to be in a good mood.  This October is no exception.

With my new position and new routine though – my October this year is passing in the blink of an eye.  Lots of great things are going on, but they seem to be occurring at light speed.  My thoughts are jumbled – not clear and not calm.  Here are a few of the jumbles:

  • I am trying to get used to a new way to work and have now tried going by subway and by taxi.  I think taxi should be easier – but that is contingent upon telling the taxi driver the correct address.  I switched one syllable yesterday and we wound up driving around an extra ten minutes before I finally recognized the street.  It was an elementary mistake – unlike my command of the language in Hangzhou.
  • Went to a great restaurant for dinner last Saturday with friends.  A coworker asked me where he should take some American visitors and I recommended there.  He said they hated it.  Are my tastes so different then other Americans?
  • Walking home from my yoga studio I noticed a beautiful scent in the air.  It felt like the park by Xintiandi was perfumed.  I closed my eyes and breathed it in, then noticed that all of the trees are budding.  I don’t remember this happening before, but I am glad I slowed down enough to notice.

And so the month continues.  I don’t anticipate a slow down anytime soon.  I will have to adjust to this new normal for a while.  Posts may be delayed until I can get back into some semblance of a rhythm.  How do you calm your jumbled thoughts?

As a final note I would like to send a belated birthday shout out to my mother.  Happy belated birthday!

2 Responses to “October jumbles”

  1. expatlingo October 24, 2013 at 7:59 am #

    Glad you’re enjoying a pleasant autumn! I really like the image of you stopping to smell the blossoms by Xintiandi.

    • gkm2011 October 24, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

      It was a beautiful night!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

