Camel sightings

12 Dec

I went to Dubai for the first time in November.  It was a great experience with a lot of work meetings and a lot of fun – punctuated by a variety of camel sightings during my trip.

The sightings started at the airport – where there was a “camel” for me to climb on right by the baggage claim.

What other airport lets you pose with a camel while you are waiting for your bag?

What other airport lets you pose with a camel while you are waiting for your bag?

They continued when exploring the Mall of Dubai which is connected to the Burg Khalifa – the tallest building in the world, there were another pair of camel statues hanging out in the main shopping area.

Wandering through the mall

Wandering through the mall

A camel accompanied by locals in white

A camel accompanied by locals in white

I also saw some real live camels during our trek through the desert in 4x4s.  They appeared to be racing with our jeep as we sped over the dunes.

The real deal - an entire pack of camels!

The real deal – an entire pack of camels!

My final camel was the one that I won in an archery competition during the visit.  It was a hidden talent I didn’t even know existed.

He has eyelashes!

He has eyelashes!

To make it even sweeter, at the duty-free in the airport I purchased some camel milk chocolate to give to my family for Thanksgiving.

As the weather gets colder, hope these camel sightings heat you up!

Any camel sightings in your history?

6 Responses to “Camel sightings”

  1. Every Day Adventures in Asia December 12, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    That pic of you at the airport is great! And your little stuffed toy – too cute!

    Camel sightings are become quite rare in urban India… in the 90s I used to regularly see a camel or two or three strolling down the streets in Delhi and always when traveling through Rajasthan.

    Guess now I’d need to make a deliberate trip to the desert or pop across to Dubai! 🙂

    • gkm2011 December 13, 2013 at 8:29 am #

      The stuffed camel is adorable, I agree. :-). It is difficult to imagine seeing a camel walk down the street but even stranger to think they may disappear. Sounds like a trip to Dubai is in order!

      • Every Day Adventures in Asia December 13, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

        We’ll see soon enough either way:
        1. We’re planning to go for the Dubai jazz fest in Feb
        2. Denz has an upcoming shoot in Rajasthan for The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel 2… and I fully intend to tag along as there are just too many amazing folks… Including Richard Gere!
        Camels will be a bonus 🙂

  2. sarahinguangzhou December 13, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

    camels are ace. They’re my 3rd favourite animal after orang utangs and elephants.
    Dubai has become a really popular holiday destination now, I suppose because you can pretty much guarantee hot weather. I’ve never been, although I’ve changed planes there so many times that I feel as if I have.

    • gkm2011 December 15, 2013 at 9:14 am #

      Visiting in November the weather was picture perfect – not someplace I would like to be in the summer. The airport is pretty amazing – heard it is now the largest building in the world.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dubai – photos and thoughts | 中国 Jumble - December 19, 2013

    […] from multiple camel sightings, I packed a lot more into my trip to Dubai last month.  Traveling for business is always […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

