Happy Mid Autumn Festival!

13 Sep

IMG_20140908_202939

What a difference a year makes!  Last year at this time I was finishing up at my previous employer, looking forward to our upcoming delayed honeymoon to Greece and going to visit my sister-in-law who had just had a new baby.  In the spirit of full disclosure, the holiday was actually at the beginning of the week, but I figured after not posting for four months I should just take the plunge again and not worry about being a few days late.

This year I am almost a year into a great new job and waiting for more big changes of our own before the end of the year.  We celebrated in Shanghai in a very muted fashion as I had a terrible cold, but had to have some moon cakes and of course take a walk to look at the full moon.

The moon cakes this time were the traditional Hong Kong style with the egg yolk in the center – we tried two variations, one the classic and the other with bean paste and egg yolk.  I still prefer the classic one – though the ice cream moon cakes that some companies provide are also pretty yummy.

After an absolutely crazy travel schedule through the end of August, I should be in one place for a while now and will try once again to share my findings and stories of the jumbled life that I live here in Shanghai.  Over the last couple of weeks as I have been walking through the city I’ve noticed things that automatically I’ve thought – that would be a great post!

Now, I’ve taken the time to reactive my account, start transferring some photos and getting myself into that blog mindset.

I hope that once again you will agree and follow me on my journey.

Cheers!

11 Responses to “Happy Mid Autumn Festival!”

  1. expatlingo September 13, 2014 at 1:25 pm #

    Nice to see you back! And good to hear everything is going well.

    • gkm2011 September 13, 2014 at 3:54 pm #

      Thanks! Was actually surprised how many views I still received while on hiatus – and how many likes on this post so quickly. Makes me feel coming back was the right decision.

  2. simpletravelourway September 14, 2014 at 3:23 am #

    We definitely missed you! …and are very happy you’re back. We missed hearing about the big and small happenings of life in Shanghai.

    • gkm2011 September 14, 2014 at 9:22 pm #

      Thanks! Life just got caught in a huge whirlwind. Since May I have been all over – will provide more details soon! Looking forward to following you again too!

  3. Every Day Adventures in Asia September 14, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

    Welcome back! And enjoy the mooncakes. 🙂

  4. Cousin Matt September 15, 2014 at 2:34 am #

    A new post from Greta: best birthday present!

    Is it technically “mid-autumn” in Shanghai yet? I know when I visited last year (in October), you said it was still considered summer due to the lingering high temperatures…

    • gkm2011 September 15, 2014 at 8:37 pm #

      This year things are much cooler, so it does feel like fall – but technically it is mid-Autumn on the lunar calendar, not the solar one so it is mid-Autumn!

  5. glen van alkemade September 17, 2014 at 1:28 am #

    Good to hear from you again! I have missed your posts. Greetings from Chicago.

  6. Anne September 17, 2014 at 7:57 pm #

    Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

