Happy birthday to me!

23 Sep

This year I was lucky and got to celebrate my birthday early because my hubby will be out of town today, the day itself.  He organized a perfect afternoon as a birthday treat – and I didn’t have a clue!

We started by heading to Shook! restaurant on the Bund where they have a special lunch menu – with beautiful food.  Even though the day was misty – we got great views of Lujiazui and felt very pampered by the staff.

bday rest IMG_20140919_142822

IMG_20140919_132135 bday main IMG_20140919_143110

After a delightful lunch Li said we had extra time, so we headed across the street to the famous Peace Hotel which has been completely renovated in the last several years.  We wandered through the lobby looking at the photos of all of the famous guests, marveling at the beautiful stained glass ceilings and then eventually treated ourselves to a slice of fruit cake in the coffee shop looking out over East Nanjing Road.  I had never gone into the hotel – even after nearly 7 years in Shanghai, so it felt like we were exploring a new (yet very old) place.

bday tea

Finally we headed to another district and got educated on the colored gem stone industry and my hubby presented me with a very delicate birthday gift – my Chinese zodiac symbol (a monkey) on a necklace.  It is adorable – and something  I will wear a lot, I’m sure.

A lot has changed in the last year – I wonder what my next year will bring!

What is your preferred way to celebrate?  For me, friends, food and something new to see made it perfect.

 

11 Responses to “Happy birthday to me!”

  1. jotsfromasmallapt September 23, 2014 at 9:29 pm #

    Special wishes for your Birthday day…and everyday.
    Enjoy so much the journey that you capture in words and snaps…and share with all of us.
    Raye

  2. Matt September 23, 2014 at 10:46 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Greta, from one Monkey to another!

    My birthday celebrations vacillate between unacknowledged and grandiose. Last year I was on call, so my birthday was a normal work day followed by watching some TV that night (and maybe I went to the gym). But this year my birthday fell in the middle of my vacation, and while there wasn’t a specific “birthday moment” (other than phone calls from parents and siblings), I did get to spend a beautiful day driving north along the Pacific Coast Highway on my way to San Francisco.

    I find as I get older, birthday celebrations are adjusted to fit nearby free time in the calendar, rather than the actual date. But it’s always a plus if the day does line up, so good for you!

    • gkm2011 September 27, 2014 at 8:55 am #

      Very true – flexibility about the celebration happens as I get older, but I still feel the need to recognize that special day. I know some folks who don’t like their birthday, but in am not one of them!

  3. Every Day Adventures in Asia September 23, 2014 at 11:16 pm #

    Glad to see pics of your pre-birthday celebration and hope your cake turned out smashingly!! Happy happy birthday joy joy!!

  4. clothedwithjoy September 24, 2014 at 12:14 am #

    Today is my birthday and my kids make it so special. Thats what i love 🙂

    • gkm2011 September 27, 2014 at 8:56 am #

      That’s great! Happy belated birthday!

  5. glen van alkemade September 24, 2014 at 3:16 am #

    So, you’re like, what — 26? Congrats and happy birthday.
    I celebrated my 50th this year with a stage show.
    http://gpjva.wordpress.com/2014/05/13/wot-no-elephants/

  6. Valerie September 24, 2014 at 8:21 am #

    Happy birthday! That meal looks delicious!

  7. CrazyChineseFamily September 24, 2014 at 3:15 pm #

    Happy birthday, I the food actually looked very good, something I sometimes miss when eating out in China 😛

    • gkm2011 September 27, 2014 at 8:57 am #

      It was excellent – someplace I would recommend – and at lunch even relatively affordable!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tea and jazz at The Peace Hotel | 中国 Jumble - November 8, 2014

    […] my mom was in town was treat her to afternoon tea at The Peace Hotel.  When Li and I celebrated my birthday, we had slipped inside the lobby and happened to notice that every Sunday they have a special jazz […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

