More dumplings! Discovering Paradise Dynasty

18 Oct
Eight different types of soup dumplings!

Eight different types of soup dumplings!

I was lucky to have my mother visit me over the recent October holidays.  We had clear skies, readily available taxis (because so many people were out of town) and we ate like queens.  Each day we tried something special – either something I hadn’t had the opportunity to try before – or that I thought she needed to experience while in Shanghai.  It was a great visit.

On one of her first days, we tried something that had been on my list – Paradise Dynasty (乐新皇朝) – a dumpling restaurant that is known for its varied types of Soup Dumplings (小笼包).  I had been eating with colleagues at another restaurant talking about Din Tai Fung but one said she like Paradise Dynasty better.  One late afternoon we were in the new iapm mall in Jing An and I noticed that they had a branch there.  It seemed destined that we try their dumplings.

Their most famous basket of dumplings is the picture at the start of this post.  They give you a sampler of all of the different kinds of flavors you could think of.  In the middle is the traditional pork and then surrounding it there were cheese, foie gras, spicy Sichuan, black truffle, mushroom, crab and spinach dumplings (in no particular order).  Some of them we loved – the crab and spinach especially, others like the cheese were pronounced kind of strange.

In addition to the soup dumplings we ordered steamed veggie dumplings and the traditional pan fried shengjianbao (生煎包) pork dumplings.  They were lighter than Xiao Yang‘s and very good.  I would go back for more.

Finally, because we ordered the traditional basket and I shared it on my WeChat group they gave us a free basket of durian dumplings for the publicity.  My mom had never had durian before and Li really likes it so I went along.  They were okay – but I’m not sure I would get them again – I find durian has a strange after taste that lingers for a very long time.

All in all a very successful dumpling experience that I would recommend if you’re in Shanghai.

mmexport1412211767614

When you have visitors do you take them to tried and true favorites or do you experiment?  This trip we tried a little of both and I think the balance worked out great.

What is your favorite type of dumpling?

14 Responses to “More dumplings! Discovering Paradise Dynasty”

  1. CrazyChineseFamily October 18, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

    I just love dumplings! In Xi’an we went together with my parents few years ago to a huge dumpling restaurant in the city center. Somehow I forgot the name but from the pictures it appeared that any famous person visiting the city had been there already 🙂 (needless to say the dumplings were delicious and most likely my wife knows the name)

    • gkm2011 October 18, 2014 at 9:18 pm #

      I did a dumpling feast in Xian many years ago when my parents made their first trip to China. I remember the little dumplings shaped like animals – the pork dumplings were cute little pigs! Good memories.

      • CrazyChineseFamily October 18, 2014 at 11:12 pm #

        Oh yes, all the different dumplings had shapes of animals. I had already forgotten about this 🙂

  2. ladyofthecakes October 18, 2014 at 6:46 pm #

    Those dumplings look fab! I love all manner of dumplings 🙂

    • gkm2011 October 18, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

      I do too. There are so many different types!

  3. Giovannoni Claudine October 18, 2014 at 8:20 pm #

    I remember that in Beijing I had tried the dumplings with sweet chestnuts… initially I didn’t liked them a lot, but when I tasted them again in Hong Kong, I have become adicted!
    Here in Locarno, we have a small Chinese restaurant that cook them for me on request!
    Have a lovely weekend :-)claudine

    • gkm2011 October 18, 2014 at 9:24 pm #

      I am not sure about chestnut dumplings but they sound great – sweet but not too sweet. Enjoy them!

  4. Every Day Adventures in Asia October 20, 2014 at 2:40 am #

    Yum! Would love to try one of these years. 🙂

    In the the meantime, the dumplings at the Leela in Delhi breakfast I enjoyed the last two days were surprisingly good for India!

    • gkm2011 October 20, 2014 at 4:46 pm #

      You are always welcome! Glad to know you have had some decent dumplings recently.

  5. Marta October 20, 2014 at 8:28 pm #

    Sounds like a good place! Was it very expensive? I may try it on my next visit to Shanghai.

    • gkm2011 October 22, 2014 at 9:27 am #

      It is more expensive than street food but less expensive than Din Tai Fung – I think dinner for the three of us was around 250 RMB.

      • Marta October 22, 2014 at 4:50 pm #

        That’s ok! Thanks for the recommendation.

  6. Naomi Baltuck October 27, 2014 at 12:58 pm #

    So cute!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tea and jazz at The Peace Hotel | 中国 Jumble - November 8, 2014

    […] special thing we did when my mom was in town was treat her to afternoon tea at The Peace Hotel.  When Li and I celebrated my birthday, we had […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

