Travel theme – Sunset

23 Aug

This week the travel theme at Where’s my Backpack is “Sunset.”  I chose the two photos here from our trip to Boracay this year from Chinese New Year.  I had already published a post on this same topic (click here to see the other shots which I published on Valentine’s Day), but going back through our photos there were so many unique sunsets that I chose two more.

Each night seeing the sun set on White Beach was magical.  Looking at the photos makes me want to go back!

The day that Ailsa published the post I walked out into a Shanghai night where the clouds were tinged with pink as the sun started slowly moved through the sky, but I didn’t have my camera.  Some sunsets are best seen with your heart instead of through a lens. Do you have any special sunsets?

If you’d like to see other views of sunsets please click the link above.

18 Responses to “Travel theme – Sunset”

  1. 9symphony9 August 23, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    I like the Moon in this scene.

    • gkm2011 August 23, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      Yes – it adds another dimension to “sun set” – the opposite – “moon rise.”

      Thanks for the comment.

  2. thirdeyemom August 23, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Beautiful! I love sunsets. They are the best time of the day!

    • gkm2011 August 23, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      Thank you – I enjoy them too, but best time – there are a lot of others that I enjoy too.

  3. Naomi Baltuck August 24, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    Gorgeous!

    • gkm2011 August 24, 2012 at 7:04 am #

      Yes, like a dream. I’d love to go back.

  4. The Retiring Sort August 24, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    Beautiful soft colors!

  5. valerie August 24, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    Beautiful pics! We just saw some beautiful sunsets and sunrises in Maui – always a great sight!

    • gkm2011 August 24, 2012 at 7:28 am #

      Send me a link to your photos. I need more inspiration – it’s been 6 months since the beach for me!

  6. ailsapm August 26, 2012 at 5:45 am #

    Lovely photos, gkm2011, and I adore your sentiment ‘some sunsets are best seen with your heart ‘ – I couldn’t agree more! xxx Ailsa

    • gkm2011 August 26, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      Thank you Ailsa for the inspiration to post.

  7. Inside the Mind of Isadora September 1, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    The moon peeking through those beautiful blue
    skies is breathtaking,

    • gkm2011 September 2, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Yes – when we’re privileged to see the moon it makes it even more special. Thanks for the comment!

  8. janalinesmalman June 1, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Lovely photos!! i just love watching the sunset over the ocean….

    • gkm2011 June 2, 2013 at 9:39 am #

      Thanks – something about the way the colors change makes it impossible to look away.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel Theme – Silhouette « 中国 Jumble - August 30, 2012

    […] trip to Boracay – the same place that inspired the beautiful sunset photos that I posted for last week’s theme. Idyllic Boracay – sailing at […]

  2. Shanghai sunsets « 中国 Jumble - September 18, 2012

    […] all the chaos right now, there is beauty everywhere.  I also posted on sunsets a couple of weeks ago in response to Where’s my Backpack’s […]

Leave a comment

Enjoying now

Today is a present

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

Real life in China

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

Girl in Florence

A Tuscan Texan immersed in Florentine life: passionate about food & wine | random moments | and travel