Art Shanghai 2013

7 May

At the end of April I got a note from a friend asking if I’d like to go see the Art Shanghai exhibition near Hongqiao Park as she had a couple of free tickets.  I hadn’t seen her for over a month, so we booked a sunny Sunday morning and met up right when the exhibits were supposed to open.

I’ve never gone to an art exhibition in Shanghai before and wasn’t sure exactly what to expect.

A windy day at Art Shanghai

A windy day at Art Shanghai

There were several tents with different focuses including glass blowing and more traditional painting.   We went into the glass blowing tent first and there were several interesting works of art that made me look a little closer.

Glass within glass - substantial yet delicate

Glass within glass – substantial yet delicate

The color of this piece caught my eye

The color of this piece caught my eye

With the paintings and photography exhibits I liked this set below.

A set of pictures or photos that combined east and west

A set of photos that combined east and west

Another painter we liked and were discussing his work between the two of us.  We were looking around and all of a sudden I thought I saw a man that looked like the artist and started pointing at him to my friend.  All of a sudden he came over to us and started asking us about whether we liked his paintings and which aspects we enjoyed the most.  It was a unique experience for me to speak with an artist like that.  He was French (according to his accent and the bio which was posted on the wall that my friend helped translate).

A walk through the forest in spring

A walk through the forest in spring

The artist himself!

The artist himself!

In general the fair wasn’t crowded which was rare for anything in Shanghai.  I think the temperature may have had something to do with it because although it was sunny, it was pretty cold and being outside not so great.

There was also a street with lots of little booths that screamed “craft fair.”  For a city as large as Shanghai it made me smile because I think the craft fairs that happen at our summer house in Michigan each summer are larger than this one.  However, I haven’t seen something like this in Shanghai before, so I’m sure if I wait a couple of years it will be a huge event.  We got in at the ground floor.

As we walked around, I realized I had been to this park before on one of my walking tours through Shanghai last year through Hongqiao Park.  The statues and scenery looked familiar – after five years I’m finally re-crossing paths from before.  It’s such a large city that there is much more to explore but that was a comforting feeling that I may actually be fitting in here.

Hongqiao bridge - though looking a little yellow at this point! (Hong means red in Mandarin, qiao means bridge)

Hongqiao bridge – though looking a little yellow at this point! (Hong means red in Mandarin, qiao means bridge)

Have you ever visited a place unknowingly for a second time?  It seems to happen more and more these days – especially as I never bother to learn the name of restaurants that I visit here.  Share your stories!

One Response to “Art Shanghai 2013”

  1. ladyofthecakes May 7, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    Yup. This happens to me at least three times a week in the Casco 😉

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

