Hualien Beach, Taiwan

12 May

I recently took a trip to Taiwan with my colleagues – the annual outing once again.  Two years ago, it was my trip to Zhangjiajie that led to the first post on my blog.  Last year I headed to Tengchong and then also slipped in a weekend in Korea with my colleagues.  This time we had 20 people on the bus, none of whom (myself included) had been to Taiwan before.

We had a very full schedule over the trip and it was the end of the second full day that we headed to the eastern side of the island to the area called Hualien (花莲).  It had been raining off and on all day and just before we stopped for dinner the bus pulled over to a rest stop by the sea. It was one of the scenic spots on the two lakes bikeway that winds itself across Taiwan.   We made our way down to the beach and walked along the surf.  This wasn’t a sandy beach, but the rocks were polished and the waves crashed over the edge.

Clouds breaking over Hualien beach in Taiwan

Clouds breaking over Hualien beach in Taiwan

The mist from the rain lingered but the clouds broke a little.  I snapped a photo of a lone fisherman down the beach casting into the water.

It was one moment that stayed with me during the rest of the trip.

This post was inspired by the Travel Theme: Beaches – over at Where’s My Backpack.  To see how others illustrated a beach, please click the link.

I have published photos of other beaches over the last several years – a beach vacation is one of my absolute favorites.  To see some of those posts, you can also click here.

Where’s your favorite beach?  Are you an umbrellas and a pina colada fan or do you look for deserted coastline and sea spray?  Is it the closest beach or the one half a world away that calls to you?

Wherever it is – may you have time in the next several months to take a visit.  I hope I will!

7 Responses to “Hualien Beach, Taiwan”

  1. sarahinguangzhou May 12, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

    Hmm, quite jealous. After 5 years in Asia the one and only place left un-visited on my ‘places to go’ list was Taiwan.

    • gkm2011 May 12, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

      You made it to more countries than I have then – I still have lots of other places on my list. Vietnam, Indonesia, New Zealand… It was a great trip, I’d like to go back!

  2. Valerie May 14, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    What a great picture! I like the break in the dark sky — looks like a little purple in the photo.

    • gkm2011 May 14, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      The rain let up just a little and made that opening. Five minutes earlier or later it would have been different!

  3. TBM May 17, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    I’ve been lucky to have visited many beaches in the world, however my favorite is Laguna Beach in California. I grew up near there and spent many wonderful days there as a child. I haven’t seen it in 20 years and I may not go back and tarnish the memory.

    • gkm2011 May 18, 2013 at 8:52 am #

      That’s the place that turned into the MTV show, right? I could see why you want to preserve it. Funny how things can change.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Impressions of Taiwan | 中国 Jumble - June 4, 2013

    […] a topic for a different post), I went to Taiwan with my colleagues.  As I noted in this post on Hualien Beach, I have a soft spot in my heart for traveling with […]

Leave a comment

Enjoying now

Today is a present

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

Real life in China

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

Girl in Florence

A Tuscan Texan immersed in Florentine life: passionate about food & wine | random moments | and travel