Red room hospital photo montage – 上海红房子医院

26 Aug

At the beginning of this year I published a photo from my bedroom window where one day I happened to look down and the roof was missing from the administration building of the hospital across the street.   Over the next several months, I kept an eye on the hospital.  They gutted the entire building and then started putting it back together.  When I thought of it, I snapped a picture, thinking that it may be interesting to see the progress of the build.

Then I went on vacation in May and forgot about it.

The original photo – no roof!

Putting it back together – March 2012

I thought this was nearing the end because of the red roof, but I was wrong (April 1)

Then they covered the beautiful red roof with what looked like concrete (Apr 7)

Then they sealed the roof – it wasn’t red anymore (April 17)

And the finished building (August 2012) – with the red roof

The hospital building is now completely finished and has flags fluttering on the flag pole in front.  I can see people entering and exiting regularly which is more than I can say for the now over a year long construction on my office building.

Shanghai’s red room hospital (红房子医院) is a famous OB-GYN, maternity hospital in Shanghai.  It has several branches and the one right out my window is one of the more centrally located ones.  My friend who had the second baby also went to a branch for her delivery, though closer to her home, not the one across the street.  It is  traditional hospital setting for China, meaning that you have to wait in line and sometimes in the morning there will be a line of expectant mothers or their representatives stretching through the courtyard, waiting to get a number to see the doctor.

I like the counterpoint of the idea of hospitals as a place of birth and new beginnings as opposed to the end, with pain and suffering.  Having a bright new red roofed building also helps.

Have you watched some place change – be renovated or renewed recently?

8 Responses to “Red room hospital photo montage – 上海红房子医院”

  1. mona August 26, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Thank you for chronicling the remodel … quite interesting

    • gkm2011 August 26, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Thanks – I enjoyed watching their progress from a unique point of view – above!

  2. abc in shanghai August 26, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    … i guess your friend didn’t pay the doctor’s and hospital enough money to get preferential treatment. i have a friend who just went through the system and those payments started way back when seeing the doc in the 1st trimester. nice progression shots btw.

    • gkm2011 August 26, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

      Thanks – yes, my friend decided this time to stay within the scope of the social medical plan (no extras). It’s amazing how much “back pocket” money there is in the hospital system – I think that likely they will have to raise doctor salaries before things like that will hopefully fade into the past.

  3. jotsfromasmallapt August 26, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    As always, gkm, nicely done.

    • gkm2011 August 27, 2012 at 8:38 am #

      Good to hear from you Jots! It was an interesting process to watch as well.

  4. expatlingo August 29, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    I tried commenting on your apartment hunt post, but the comment link isn’t showing up. Maybe it’s just a result of my shoddy PCCW internet connection out in the sticks of Hong Kong, but it might also be some random WordPress setting.

    Best of luck with your apartment hunt! I can feel your pain…

    • gkm2011 August 30, 2012 at 8:47 am #

      Thanks for the moral support. I checked my posts and it is checked to leave a comment so I’m not sure why it didn’t appear. My fingers are crossed – I’m putting down a deposit today!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

